Great start to the week!

The morning FLEW on this glorious Monday.  I didn’t have time to stop and think till about 11:00.  My delicious (and standard) breakfast powered me through until I had a chance to sit down and realize that I was a bit hungry.  Luckily I had a delish in a dish nectarine to hold me over until lunch.

We had a speaker over the lunch hour and I grabbed a salad from the AWESOME salad bar in a building near mine.  Greens, chicken, black beans, roasted red peppers, peanuts, mandarin oranges, green onions and honey mustard dressing all made it into my lunch salad.  An apple and Casein  + water powered my through the afternoon and my evening swim/run.

I headed to the gym post work and did 1/2 mile in the pool.  I swam the first quarter pretty slow but then this dude got in the pool and I didn’t want him to lap me so I swam the second quarter mile way faster.  By the end I was totally out of breath and could barely haul myself out of the pool.  However, I am proud to say that he didn’t lap me!

Kerry and I then went on a glorious 4 mile run through downtown Minneapolis.  We ran a new route and fortunately much of it was in the shade.  It was pretty hot running in the sun.  I don’t think I would have lasted had more of our run been out in the sun.  Yes, I tried to rhyme that ish.

Surprisingly, I was not famished when I got home.  I’ve been trying to add more protein into my diet and eat a morning and afternoon snack.  This has really helped me get my hunger under control so I’m not to the point of starving.

I made a Chipolte-esque burrito bowl for dinner.  3/4 cup brown organic rice + peppers and onions + 3 turkey meatballs + black beans + corn

I picked up these guys from Trader Joe’s and highly recommend them!

I didn’t have any chicken so these were substituted for my meat (protein).  They tasted a bit weird with my Mexican-inspired dinner.  But not so weird that I wouldn’t use them again.

Topped it off with some Salsa Lisa chipolte salsa.

My dessert was a protein shake– milk chocolate whey protein + water (I’m out of almond milk!)

Off to get my yoga on…DOWNWARD DOG!

Source

About Running the Off Season

I am a runner trying to stay healthy and in shape! I try to live a healthy lifestyle through good food choices, exercise, and fun!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Great start to the week!

  1. Pingback: Hot yoga is my new jam | Running the Off Season

Leave a Reply

