Healthy Turkey Meatballs

Arrrggghh!!! Overslept again!! I did not make class with Becca today. 😦 I don’t even remember snoozing my alarm!

I made it to the gym by 6:30.  Did 25 min stairclimber and 10 min elliptical.  Then foam rolled the crap out of my hamstring.

I am currently eating my usual breakfast aka egg scrambler wrap.  Now it’s off to suit up and WALK (so excited) to my first day of work!!!

In other news…

Last night my pizza contained three healthy turkey meatballs.  I adapted this recipe.

I originally made them during finals week and have used them throughout the week in various dishes, i.e., pasta and pizza.

Healthy Turkey Meatballs (adapted from this recipe)

  • 1 package Jennie O. 97% lean ground turkey
  • 1/2 yellow onion, finely chopped
  • 1/4 cup parsley finely chopped
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 1/2 teaspoon oregano
  • 1/2 cup egg beaters (plain)
  • 1/2 cup dried Italian seasoned bread crumbs
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper

I started with all the ingredients (minus the turkey) and then mixed the turkey in.

Then I made a bunch of little meatballs, sprayed the pan with Pam, and let them cook.  I really struggled cooking these guys all the way through…

So I sort of burnt them…oopsie. But they were still good!

Because I used a full pack of turkey this recipe made a TON of meatballs.

In total, I think this recipe made 21 meatballs. That’s a ton, right?! Anyway, I totally recommend trying these.  I froze the leftovers and when I want to use them, I just reheat them in the microwave.

Have a great day!

About Running the Off Season

I am a runner trying to stay healthy and in shape! I try to live a healthy lifestyle through good food choices, exercise, and fun!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

