Whooooooooaaaaa

I finished the Earth Day Half Marathon!

My cousin Meghan and I drove up Friday evening, checked into our hotel, and totally crashed. But Mission Sneak-in-Darby was a success! I had a sandwich thin + pb once we got settled in…carbo load!

I zipped him up in my shirt and carried a Trader Joe’s bag in front of him. We were real smooth. πŸ˜‰

Meghan and I woke up around 6:30. And we were greeted by this:

Gross. It actually wasn’t that bad when we started the race. But it got SOOOOOO windy towards the end. More on that later.

Pre-race fuel: Sandwich thin + pb + banana

The expo on the race day. It actually got pretty crowded after the race. There were 1700 runners.

I helped pace the 2:15 group.

Ok…so the race.

It was hard. I’m not gonna lie. Well, the last three miles were hard. The first ten were pleasant with a few hills and beautiful scenery. We ran through the woods for about a mile. It was very Robert Frost a la “The Road Not Taken.”

But once we hit the back part of the course and didn’t have the trees for coverage from the wind, it got tough. I couldn’t hold our pacing sign up high because the wind kept whipping it back and I was afraid it would snap in half. Kelly, my AWESOME pace partner, and I tried to take turns carrying it but neither of us could hold it up for more than a few seconds.

Our pace leader wants us to finish within thirty seconds of our goal time. I am happy to report that Kelly and I finished at 2:14:56. SPOT ON! πŸ™‚

After the race we went inside and got some eats. I re-fueled with a half of a cinnamon bagel, half banana, a few pretzel twists, and a frozen GoGurt. The frozen GoGurt was awesome!

Meghan and I then hustled back to the hotel to pack up and hit the road.

Darby looked like he had a pretty rough morning. πŸ˜‰

We stopped at Jimmy Johns for another re-fueling session. I was SO hungry!

Turkey Tom no mayo no tomato with onions and dijon.

And some DELICIOUS Jimmy Chips! BBQ…my fav!

After I dropped off Meghan I did some stuff for trial ad then went to babysit. We had big plans to go to Punch Pizza for dinner (parents were having a cocktail party before their event) but both girls were sick! 😦 So we watched movies and ordered in pizza. I had two slices and just took off the cheese.

I was exhausted and crashed right after I got home from babysitting.

Today…

I woke up this morning a little sore and figured the best way to feel better was to work through the soreness! Spin it was!

After an intense and sweaty spin session I had to run some errands (grocery shopping, etc). I snacked on an apple and some almonds after class. I didn’t want to go to the grocery store hungry! Nothing good ever comes of that.

When I got back a few hours later I made brunch/lunch.

Egg scrambler!

In the mix

  • 1/2 cup egg beaters + 1 egg white
  • LOTS of peppers and onions
  • 1/4 cup black beans
  • Spinach

And some berries!

Erin and I are having a trial ad dinner party tonight! πŸ™‚ We are meeting with our witnesses, making them dinner, and going over stuff for Wednesday!

I made (making) Crock Pot Chicken Taco Chili from Skinny Taste! Pictures later! But it’s cooking right now and smells delicious!

About Running the Off Season

I am a runner trying to stay healthy and in shape! I try to live a healthy lifestyle through good food choices, exercise, and fun!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Whooooooooaaaaa

  1. Alice says:

    I keep forgetting to tell you, try the Trader Joe’s High Fiber with Dried Fruit cereal with your yogurt. It’s soooo good. It’s got more texture than Fiber One, plus the sliced nuts and dried fruit in it are delicious. Congrats on the Earth Day Half! Miss you!

  2. Pingback: Successes and Failures | Running the Off Season

Leave a Reply

