Sunday Funday

Spring is in the air! 🙂

FINALLY! Note: Please ignore tomorrow. 😉

Today has been super productive! First, spin  (awesome per usual) followed by a delish breakfast.

Egg Beaters + 1 egg white + peppers and onions + 1/4 cup black beans + spinach

And some grapes.

Erin and I also made some great progress on our trial stuff. Even though these next few weeks are going to be really busy, I’m confident that we are going to kick butt at our trial! 🙂

OPI Axxium Product Review!

So have you guys heard of that new lacquer-esque nail polish? I head about it a few weeks ago–it’s basically just really heavy duty nail polish that is supposed to stay chip-free for 3 weeks.

Anywayyyyy, I’ve been dying to try it! Yesterday, Molly, Anna, Rachael and I talked about getting our nails done the next day (today) and I requested a salon that would have this new lacquer nail treatment.

Enter, Livvy Nails & Spa! This place is out in Lakeville–I picked up Anna and we met Molly out there. I had never been before and the salon was AWESOME. It was really new and clean and affordable.

And I got the lacquer treatment!! 🙂 I opted for OPI Axxium. I chose “Lincoln Park After Dark.” Here’s a picture of the regular polish–just so you get a feeling for the color. Source.

Pretty dark, huh?? I have never had my nails dark before! Usually I choose colors like Koala-Beary (like in Florida, remember?). I also really like “All That Rhazzberry” and “Don’t You Think I’m Texy?”

Even though it’s different, I love it! Both the color AND the way my nails look!

So, what the heck is this stuff?!

The Axxium kit look something like this:

(Source)

After the nail technician buffed and cleaned my nails, she applied the base product, this clear gel substance. She painted it on my nails with a little tiny brush.

I then dried my nails under a lamp and the nail tech got to work with the colored polish. The polish comes in a little tub like this:

(Source)

And just like the base gel, the nail tech painted on the colored polish. It looked super thick and gooey. After each coat (three total!) I dried my nails under the lamp for a few minutes.

After she finished the third coat I dried my nails in two individual dryer thingys…I think it was just UV light dryers.

Lastly, the nail tech coated my nails with another clear liquid then sprayed them with some special spray. And I was done!

Here are some pics of my nails

Super shiny! My nails also feel sturdy. I’ve never had fake nails, so I don’t know what that’s like, but my nails do feel differently than when I just have normal nail polish on.

I’ll let you know how long it lasts! Also, the price. At Livvy Salon the treatment was $35 dollars. If I had paid in cash, I would have gotten $5 off for being a new customer. Unfortunately, I didn’t have cash on me!

I thought $35 was reasonable, especially because the treatment is supposed to last 3 weeks. Also, I have gotten manicures with regular nail polish that were more than $35 so if this really does last at least 3 weeks without chipping, I’m sold! 🙂

I’ll keep you posted on how long it lasts!

In other news…

FOOD! Lunch was Jimmy Johns + an apple. I ate it on the go and didn’t snap a picture. Sorry! I got the usual–Turkey Tom (on French) with sprouts, lettuce, and mustard. I forgot to add onions though. The apple was just a regular ‘ol Granny Smith.

P.S. Did you know Jimmy Johns has a build-your-own sub page that tells you the nutritional values of your fav sammie?? Check it out here!

More work this afternoon. Big BA reading assignment due tomorrow. LAME.

Dinner was somewhat summer inspire because I used the grill! 🙂 To my surprise, I had NO trouble lighting it up after a long winter!

As dinner was cooking, I made a delicious summer salad! Greens, strawberries, 1 tbsp walnuts, and 2 tsp balsamic dressing

Main attraction: Grilled chicken, edamame, and sweet potato.

Just microwaved the sweet potato, sliced it up, and added some cinnamon and sea salt.

Grilled chicken with some Emeril’s chicken rub

And I just sauteed some frozen shelled edamame.

Back to the books! Have a great night!!

About Running the Off Season

I am a runner trying to stay healthy and in shape! I try to live a healthy lifestyle through good food choices, exercise, and fun!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sunday Funday

  1. Kasey says:

    No chip is the way to go!!!! I have been doing it since last summer…and I am never going back to normal again : )

  2. Pingback: Can’t ignore it | Running the Off Season

Leave a Reply

