Great day for a race!

The sun was shining…and Minnesota temps were in the 40’s…

Perfect day for the 10k Running Opener!!

Pre-race fuel: Coffee, 1/2 cup quick oats (with cinnamon and agave nectar) and some blackberries

The race didn’t start until 9:00 but because my cousin Meghan and I were pacing, we had to get there around 8:00.

We got our shirts, met some of the other Pacers, and warmed up.

Taryn and I paced the 9:11 group. It was great! She was a great pacer and we just chatted the whole time. She just had a baby 4 weeks ago! Impressive, right?

Our goal time was 57:00 and we finished about 25 seconds fast. Better under than over!

After the race, Meghan and I ran another lap around the lake. In total, we put in about 9.30 miles.

Not a bad way to start our Saturday!

My pacing shirt:

and makeshift pacing chart

On the way back to the car we snagged some banana pieces.

I had a ton of fun and can’t wait to pace the Earth Day half marathon in two weeks! I am going to tag along with Meghan next weekend to Goldy’s Run. I probably won’t pace but I’m gonna run anyways!

I was pretty hungry by the time I got home. After Meghan dropped me off I had to run to the grocery store to grab some essentials (eggs, spinach, etc.).

As I cooked my omelet I had a Yoplait Greek Yogurt.

Breakfast is served!

In the mix

  • 1/2 cup Southwestern style Egg Beaters + 1 egg white
  • 1/4 cup black beans
  • Peppers and onions
  • Spinach
  • 2 pieces light toast

And some grapes

I’m off to take pictures for Anna and Joe! Have a great afternoon!

About Running the Off Season

I am a runner trying to stay healthy and in shape! I try to live a healthy lifestyle through good food choices, exercise, and fun!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Great day for a race!

  1. Pingback: What.a.day. | Running the Off Season

  2. Pingback: Sunday Funday | Running the Off Season

Leave a Reply

