Pizza, beer, and basketball

Pizza + beer water

Basketball: MU v. UNC

I’m cheering for Marquette! Go Golden Eagles! πŸ™‚

For dinner, I ordered a small deep dish pizza from Green Mill. I am holding down the fort at my parents and didn’t feel like making dinner. On my pizza I got sausage, onions, and spinach. DELICIOUS! I also made a little side salad with some balsamic vinaigrette.

I’m only watching a little bit of the game…it’s back to my paper after I finish this post!

Earlier…

The new workout class I went to this morning was AWESOME! It was totally different than any type of class I’ve taken. We wore weighted hand gloves, did lots of air punches and kicking, and used the body bar for upper body exercises.

It was tough! At the end of class the instructor had us take off our gloves and do a few air punches. WHAT A DIFFERENCE! My arms felt so light!

The class was at one of the gym branches I don’t usually go to because it’s a 25 minute drive from my place…that’s too far to drive for 6 am classes! The 9:30 class was PACKED with moms whose wedding bling was blinding. Insanity. I was actually surprised at how crowded the gym was at 9:00. I guess I expected it to be less crowded because it was past the morning pre-work rush?

Anyway, I would totally do Strike! again…I wish they had a similar class at the gym close to my place!

After class I came home, packed up my school stuff, and met Anna and Molly for lunch. Clearly, this paper is important. πŸ˜‰

Bruegger’s Bagels!

I switched it up a bit…added hummus to my usual turkey sammie. I got an everything bagel with turkey, lettuce, and hummus. They put WAY too much hummus on. I’ll def ask them to go easy next time!

Clearly, not enough BBQ kettle chips. πŸ˜‰ I went back for more!

It was great hanging out with Anna and Molly! I always have so much fun with them…and their girls. πŸ˜‰

Then it was over to my parents’ house where I got to work on my paper! I am actually researching a pretty interesting topic: fast food litigation, aka the “McLawsuits“. Basically, I’m analyzing whether this types of lawsuits will ever be successful, especially in light of the Big Tobacco litigation.

Here’s what I’ve been reading–these are my condensed opinions.

  • Lawsuits against fast food joints are possible if you can prove that the restaurant fraudulently misrepresented one or more of its products. For example, in the early 90’s, McDonalds settled a lawsuit for 12 million dollars because they said they changed to a “healthier” oil used for deep frying their french fries but in reality, they hadn’t. Another example, an ice cream brand claimed their ice cream had only 100 calories per serving when in reality, it had almost double or triple! Remember that Seinfield episode?? πŸ˜‰
  • It looks like the recent wave of McLawsuits, aka blaming McDonalds for making a person obese, will not succeed because the plaintiffs (peeps bringing the lawsuits) can’t prove that McDonalds is the direct cause, or even substantial factor, in making them obese. Because a person is usually obese because of a slew of lifestyle choices (lack of exercise, other poor food choices), it’s near impossible, at least now, to show that McDonalds is the cause of one’s obesity.
  • Unlike the tobacco settlement, there is no indication that fast food is addictive (some research but it’s not that strong) or any existence of fraud on the part of the fast food restaurants. There are “rumors” that McDonalds targeted “heavy hitters” who they knew would keep coming but, but nothing, at least from what I’ve read, has been solidified. Basically, there haven’t been any “whistle blowers” aka people from within the industry coming forward and saying that McDonalds knew their food was addictive, created false research to show that it wasn’t, or testified under oath that they didn’t know it was addictive (i.e., all bad stuff that the big guys in the tobacco industry did).
  • Even though no obesity lawsuit has been successful yet, it is believed that the press surrounding them, namely, the focus on the obesity epidemic in America, has brought about some positive changes in the industry. For example, legislation has been enacted to help put a stop to obesity.

So yea, that might have been kind of boring for some of you, but I find it really interesting!

Ok…back to it! Have a great night! I’m hitting up Erica’s class with Kerry tomorrow morning! πŸ™‚

About Running the Off Season

I am a runner trying to stay healthy and in shape! I try to live a healthy lifestyle through good food choices, exercise, and fun!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pizza, beer, and basketball

  1. Pingback: Where’s spring? | Running the Off Season

  2. Pingback: Happy Meal | Running the Off Season

  3. Pingback: My life is boring | Running the Off Season

  4. Pingback: My life in pictures | Running the Off Season

Leave a Reply

