Fat Tuesday/Ash Wednesday

Even though I couldn’t be down in Louisiana for Mardi Gras this year, I still celebrated Fat Tuesday. In spirit! I thought about all my friends down in LA….miss you guys! 🙂

I mentioned yesterday’s lunch, but here’s a pic.

And because I am giving up sweet treats for Lent, I had two cookies later in the afternoon. First, m&m. There’s a peanut-butter one still in the bag. That one was saved for later.

Rob, Ben and I met up between my 3:00 class and our 6:00 class. We munched on some of these guys. They are SO good! But we all agreed they’d be even better with some sort of hummus or honey-mustard dip.

Lateeeeeeee dinner. Like 9:30 pm. Gross, I know.

Crock pot chicken taco salad!

Since I was eating so late, I tried to fill up on greens.

In the mix

  • Crock pot chicken taco meat
  • Spinach
  • Lettuce
  • Broccoli slaw
  • 1/2 cup black beans
  • Roasted peppers and onions

Then it was bedtime for me! I had an early workout date to prepare for! 🙂

Wednesday running!

It’s snowing here today. Surprised? I’m not. Anyway, Becca, Kerry and I all made it to Nate’s class for some winter running!

We spent the first 10 or so minutes doing abs. I will def be feeling those tomorrow. Then we did some tricep exercises and scooted outside!

It was pretty windy, which made the snow fall that much worse. We ran over to the parking garage and did horsepulls, sprints up and down the different levels of the parking ramp, and relays.

I’m really glad I got my butt out of bed this morning. I haven’t been to Nate’s Wednesday class in a LONG time.

Post-run breakfast: Egg scrambler + smoothie!

I was pretty hungry so I added a mini-version of the smoothies I usually make.

Started with some ice, splash of milk, frozen berries (blue, black, raspberries) and two dollops of TJ’s plain non-fat Greek yogurt.

Blend me.

And the egg scrambler contained the usual–1 egg + 2 whites, peppers, onions, 1/4 cup black beans, and spinach.

In other news…

As you may have noticed, I am Catholic (ACE, ND, BC, and now UST). I wouldn’t say I’m super religious or anything…but I really appreciate the community aspect of Catholicism.

Annnyyyway, today is Ash Wednesday, aka the start of Lent. As is tradition, most Catholics give up something, a Lenten sacrifice, during the 40 days of Lent. Last year I gave up pop and it was the first time in a long time that I actually stuck with it. I think I caved on one or two occasions, but it wasn’t until the end of Lent. In years past, I usually last like a day and then give up. I never took it seriously.

This year, I’m taking it seriously.

I don’t really drink pop anymore so it wouldn’t really be a “Lenten sacrifice” for me. But you know what would? Giving up sweet treats! So, this year I am going to give up sweet treats for Lent. I thought about maybe just giving up cookies or chocolate or candy. But I thought it would be especially challenging to give it ALL up. I do love a challenge. 🙂

In addition to giving something up for Lent, I am also going to try to do something during Lent…and hopefully continue after! I grew up going to mass every Sunday. At BC, my friends and I went every Sunday. In ACE, I either went with my roommates or by myself. But towards the end of ACE I kind of stopped going…and today, the last time I went to Church was Christmas. And before that? My point is that I haven’t been to church on a regular Sunday in a REALLY long time.

So during Lent, I am going to go to church every Sunday (or Saturday afternoon).

Ok…enough with the serious talk! Have a great morning, people!

P.S. Are you giving anything up or doing something for Lent?

About Running the Off Season

I am a runner trying to stay healthy and in shape! I try to live a healthy lifestyle through good food choices, exercise, and fun!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Fat Tuesday/Ash Wednesday

  1. Brittany says:

    yay! fellow catholic! I’m working on getting healthy, getting control of my emotional & binge eating! That will be my big “giving up” for Lent! I normally try and work on some aspect of myself during Lent and that’s what i intend on doing this year!!! ❤

    PS– I'm game to hold each other accountable on our lenten strivings and going to Mass every week!!! Whatcha say?!

  2. Pingback: Cardio blast | Running the Off Season

  3. alice859 says:

    Almost exactly like my give up/take on Lenten promises! Had to find a parish near me, found St. Mary’s on Harvard St. We’ll see… Giving up fast food. Eeesh.

  4. Pingback: Give me back my hour | Running the Off Season

  5. Pingback: Back to the basics | Running the Off Season

  6. Pingback: Lobster | Running the Off Season

  7. Pingback: Smashing success | Running the Off Season

  8. Pingback: Crunch time | Running the Off Season

  9. Pingback: Successes and Failures | Running the Off Season

  10. Pingback: Great day for a baseball game | Running the Off Season

Leave a Reply

