Throwback race #2: Grandma’s Marathon

Wheeeeeeeeeeew overslept this morning! Smoothie on the go. Thus, Throwback race post is early!

In case you missed it, check out my first post on a throwback race, Boston 2006!

Today’s throwback race is Grandma’s Marathon 2007

It was my second summer of ACE and I flew home from South Bend for the weekend. My friend Lindsey and I then drove up to Duluth around dinner.

The weather was pretty crazy as we drove up North!

In an effort to save some $$ we stayed in a dorm room at a local college. It was still $80 a night, minimum of 2 nights! $160 for this??

4 years later, still boggles my mind!

Lindsey took these pictures for me as I ran.

The race started super early and the weather was gorgeous. But as the race progressed, it got HOT. By the time I ended the temperatures were in the mid 80’s.

I finished! My time was 3:45…which was an 45 minutes faster than my 4:30 Boston time! I honestly don’t know what happened. It was only my second race so I still had no idea what I was doing–running wise. I just ran. Had fun. And yea, that was it! 🙂

Lindsey and me! My personal cheerleader. 🙂

I wrote on my arm! I haven’t done that in recent races and every time I finish I think, I have to do that next time! But then I always forget!

Go ACE!

Having a little fun. 😉

Lindsey forgot where we parked the car so we walked around for a bit trying to find it. I remember I got a Subway sandwich to eat post race.

Finally found the car!

There’s usually a big party after the race. Lindsey and I didn’t stick around for it though. Next time I run it, I will!

Close-up shot of my markings…

Lindsey and I got back to the cities that afternoon. Then Molly and I then went out for a celebratory drink and dinner! Lindsey was working that night at The Liffey.

My hair was so short! And still pretty light!

Have a great day!

About Running the Off Season

I am a runner trying to stay healthy and in shape! I try to live a healthy lifestyle through good food choices, exercise, and fun!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Throwback race #2: Grandma’s Marathon

  1. David says:

    I’m running Grandma’s this year! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Yikes Stripes | Running the Off Season

  3. meghan says:

    grandmas marathon = awesomesauce
    Did you eat ice cream when you finished?
    I have done the half twice (both times as someone else, once as a man). You HAVE to do it again and stay over saturday night the only reason I like it is because its all drunk runners and the best party ever. Plus you don’t even feel bad for drinking and drunk eating and telling a bar full of people that you got 3rd in your age group and ran the whole race in jorts.
    Last year fathers day was the sunday after so after I got home I went to my dads house and puked twice. When I tried to tell him one of the little kids got me sick he was like “I have run that race enough to know how hung over you must be”.

  4. Pingback: Throwback Race #3: Baton Rouge Half Marathon | Running the Off Season

Leave a Reply

