How I know when I’m sick

I don’t usually get sick–well, like stomach bug sick. Colds are another story. The last time I was sick and out of commission was back in Louisiana. I got sick at school and went home after second period. Other than that, I think the last time I had the flu was senior year in college. And that might have been a hangover. 😉

So when I started feeling ill last night and woke up this morning feeling gross, I knew something was up.

Here’s how I know I’m sick.

  1. I’m not hungry. Usually, I could eat something whenever, regardless of if I’m hungry or not. But today I had absolutely no appetite and the idea of food made me queasy.
  2. I don’t want to work out. This morning I felt so weak and tired. Not even the prospect of wearing my new shoes could get me out of bed. And even later in the evening, where I normally get a second wind, I’m not feeling a workout.
  3. I don’t want to eat multiple spoonfuls of sunflower butter. I added a little sunflower butter to a sandwich thin (see below) for dinner tonight. Usually when I eat sunflower butter I want to, or do, eat multiple spoonfuls right out of the far. Tonight, no desire.
  4. No craving for a sweet treat. I like sweets. I don’t know too many people that don’t! I can usually control my sweet treat cravings during the day…but post dinner? It’s always like I need something sweet! Not tonight. Right now, the idea of a sweet treat makes me want to gag.
  5. All I want to do is sleep. I don’t want to watch TV. See my friends. All I want to do is sleep.

Even though I wasn’t really that hungry when I woke up, I made some soup and a sandwich thin with sunflower butter.

I was surprised at how meaty and noodley this soup was.

Pretty good. My stomach was still a little upset though. 😦

Back to bed for me….hopefully I’ll feel better in the morning.

About Running the Off Season

I am a runner trying to stay healthy and in shape! I try to live a healthy lifestyle through good food choices, exercise, and fun!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How I know when I’m sick

  1. Kasey says:

    Feel better soon!!!!! Miss ya!!

  2. Pingback: Tueeeessssday | Running the Off Season

Leave a Reply

