TRX class recap

Good afternoon! In case you missed it, check out my post on running shoes!

This morning I woke up bright and early to attend a TRX class with Kerry and Becca. There were only four of us total and we were in one of the yoga rooms…but our TRXs were suspended from the wall kinda like in the picture below.

Source

The class was great! I liked that it was so small–it felt like we had a personal trainer. We did four different sets of three different exercises. We did three reps per exercise.

For example, our first set was squat jumps, bicep curls, and tricep extensions. So we’d go through those three exercises once, with a 30 second rest in between. Then we would do two super sets, repeating the same exercises in a different order and with no break.

It was tough!

And yep, we did pikes like in the picture below!

Source

After class I came home and made breakfast! I switched it up this morning. Surprised? ๐Ÿ˜‰

Berry oatmeal

In the mix

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 cup skim milk
  • 1 tbsp sunflower butter
  • 3/4 cup mixed berries (raspberries, blueberries, blackberries)
  • 1/2 banana

After my two classes I b-lined it out to the Mall of America. Remember how much I hate this place? ๐Ÿ˜‰

My mission: pick up these running shoes!! I mentioned earlier that I had actually ordered a pair from Road Runner Sports. But when I saw that these shoes came in other colors I totally regretted my purchase.

So I called bright and early this morning and canceled! It was really easy and I was relieved that I wouldn’t have to have two big charges on my card, pay to send the other shoes back, and then wait to get my refund. Whewwwww.

And let me tell you, THEY. ARE. AWESOME. ๐Ÿ™‚

I got the last pair of 8.5s!

Opening up the box….

AWESOME!!!!

I am OB-sessed with these colors!

So so so cool!

These are definitely the coolest pair of running shoe’s I’ve had in a LONG time. Most of the time, I am not a fan of the color of the Wave Creation. I’ve been buying these since I was in Louisiana.

I ran my first marathon (Boston 2006, bandit) with a pair of Asics–Gel Nimbus. They were men’s because all the women’s shoes were too narrow. I got another pair of men’s Asics but after those wore out I changed it up. I went with the Mizunos.

After I wore through my Mizunos (Summer 2007) I wanted to go back to the Asics because I thought the newest version of Wave Creation was ugly. Lesson learned. NEVER buy a shoe style based on appearance. The Gel Nimbus 10 were horrible to my feet–at least for running. They are my knock around shoes now.

I went back to the Mizunos after about a month of running in the Gel Nimbus 10s and haven’t looked back. ๐Ÿ™‚

I think the reason I didn’t buy new Mizunos between 9 and 11 was because I wasn’t running as much (last two winters) and probably bought the second pair of 9s shortly before the 10s were released. The orange 10s look pretty sweet though.

Here are pictures of all the running shoes I’ve owned. I also just spent way too much time scrolling through Google images to find them. ๐Ÿ™‚

I didn’t get home from the Mall until 2:30…and by then I was hungry!!

As I prepped lunch, I snacked on some carrots and sunflower butter.

And then I made a hefty egg scrambler and some grapes. I may have switched up breakfast but I just can’t stay away from this dish! ๐Ÿ˜‰

In the mix

  • 1 egg + 2 egg whites + splash of milk
  • Peppers and onions
  • 1/4 cup black beans
  • Spinach
  • FlatOut wrap
  • Grapes

My eyes were def bigger than my stomach and I didn’t finish the grapes. I am SO full now. I need a nap!

I can’t believe it’s already 4:00! Where did this day go???

Have a great afternoon!

P.S. Do you remember all the different running shoes you’ve had throughout the years? I remember mine (clearly) but don’t remember which ones I wore for which races, with the exception of my first and most recent pair.

About Running the Off Season

I am a runner trying to stay healthy and in shape! I try to live a healthy lifestyle through good food choices, exercise, and fun!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to TRX class recap

  1. Pingback: How I know when I’m sick | Running the Off Season

  2. Pingback: Yikes Stripes | Running the Off Season

  3. Pingback: I can’t lift my arms | Running the Off Season

Leave a Reply

