Tropical lunch

I brought a touch of island living into my lunch today!

Tropical smoothie! 8)

In the mix

  • Ice
  • 1/2 cup skim milk
  • Siggi’s yogurt
  • 3/4 cup mixed frozen fruit (strawberries, pineapple, peach mango)
  • 1 tbsp ground flaxseed
  • 1 tsp chia seeds

I started with some of this frozen fruit I picked up at Target the other day. I have never purchased Dole frozen fruit before because usually I just get the store brand. But I thought the mixture of pineapple, sliced strawberries, peaches, and mango sounded delicious! And it was! 🙂

I also tried siggi’s yogurt for the first time today. I see this yogurt a lot on Kath Eats Real Food but since I LOVE Cobani so much I rarely get other types of yogurt.

Oh, and keep in mind, this isn’t Greek yogurt. It’s “skyr” which is a type of yogurt, but it’s Iceland style. I had absolutely no idea what “skyr” even meant so I looked it up on siggi’s website. Here’s what the website says:

Skyr is the traditional yogurt of Iceland. It is made by incubating skim milk with live active cultures. The whey, the water naturally found in milk, is then strained away to make for a much thicker, creamier, concentrated yogurt. So to make just one cup of skyr, with all that water going out, you need 3 – 4 times the amount of milk required to make a regular cup of yogurt. As a result of this process skyr comes out with 2-3 times the protein count of standard yogurt.

Pretty interesting, huh? 🙂 I tried a little spoonful and it’s SUPER thick. I don’t think I could eat this just mixed with fruit or plain. It would have to be in a smoothie.

14 grams of protein! That’s quite the protein punch!

So, just to give you a comparison, in a 3.5 oz chicken breast you get about 30 grams of protein. So 14 grams in this little container isn’t bad!

I also added 1 tsp chia seeds

I first heard about chia seeds from Molly and Anna who had read about them on Iowa Girl Eats (aka my fav blog!). I then read about them in the AWESOME running book “Born to Run.”

In a nutshell, chia seeds are awesome. 🙂 You can read all about the magic of chia seeds here.

For some healthy fat, I also added some ground flax seed to my smoothie. Ground flax seed, as opposed to whole flax seed, is easier for your body to absorb. Check out this article from the Mayo Clinic on flax seed!

As I was pouring my smoothie into my awesome Guinness glass, I added a little bit of granola and flax cereal into the mix. It all went to the bottom and I had a nice little crunchy treat when I finished my smoothie!

I’m off for reals now to the library to meet with Erin so we can start working on our trial ad schtuff. Erin and I are co-counsel for our trial in April. We are going to dominate. 😉

Have a great afternoon!

P.S. Favorite type of yogurt? I used to HATE Greek yogurt but I’ve recently come around.  Dannon Light & Fit was my go to and I could eat like three a day…no joke. But now, after buying Greek yogurt for the past few months, Light & Fit tastes so sugary to me!

About Running the Off Season

I am a runner trying to stay healthy and in shape! I try to live a healthy lifestyle through good food choices, exercise, and fun!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tropical lunch

  1. Don says:

    Chia seeds are great in smoothies. They are also a good source of protein, which makes chia seeds ideal in a post-run snack. There is complete nutritional info on chia seeds at http://www.chiaseedsdirect.com.

  2. Pingback: Back to reality | Running the Off Season

Leave a Reply

