It’s the end of the world as we know it

It’s the end of the world as we know it…

My dad joined facebook today.

And I can’t believe it slash get over it.

But first…my coffee date with Alice and Lizzie!

I met Alice and Lizzie at Starbucks and we had a great little chat.

Skinny Vanilla Latte for me!

We talked quite a bit about how different high school is now compared to when we were in high school. How there’s so much more drinking, sex, etc. I first realized how different high school is today when I started teaching in Baton Rouge. It wasn’t necessarily a bad different–but different nonetheless. Every kid has a cell phone, internet access, etc.

We all agreed that the main reason teenagers are more fast paced than we were is because of technology and how readily accessible things are because of technology.

Agree? Disagree?

After coffee I stopped by my parents house and found out my dad joined facebook. I seriously couldn’t believe it! I spent about 30 minutes helping him set up his profile and find old classmates. It was very strange.

My parents are great, obvi I love them. But this is just so weird. I thought it was weird when they started texting, and now, facebook?? I always said I would quit facebook if either of my parents joined.

I don’t plan on quitting…yet. But my dad and I did establish that we wouldn’t be facebook friends.

And I’m torn as to whether I should even think it’s weird that my dad joined facebook. I mean, I can’t fault him for wanting to keep in touch with friends that he doesn’t see very often. That’s the main reason I’m on facebook–so I can keep tabs on keep in touch with friends that live in other states. 😉 But in all seriousness, it’s true.

Annnyywwayyy I still obvi texted both my brothers the second I left. Here is one of their responses to my text: “The world is coming to an end. Dad just joined facebook.”

Too funny!

In all honesty, I doubt my dad will even use it. He really only joined because he wanted updates on a family friend of ours who was recently deployed. After he “liked” the Battalion’s facebook page, he said, “Wait, I have to read through all this junk just to get the updates? I don’t want to do that!”

Oh, Dad. Welcome to facebook.

I left my parents, drove through the snow (seriously, winter?!), and when I got home, made some lunch.

Repeat salad from last night!

HUGE. And delicious. I used the same ingredients and same salad dressing. I forgot to post the site that inspired my homemade honey mustard salad dressing. Check it out here!

I would really like to just relax in front of the TV but I have a lot of homework to do! If only I could muster up some of the productivity I had this morning!

Have a great afternoon!

P.S. What do you think of parents being on facebook? Are your parents on it? If so, are you friends with them?

About Running the Off Season

I am a runner trying to stay healthy and in shape! I try to live a healthy lifestyle through good food choices, exercise, and fun!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s the end of the world as we know it

  1. Brittany says:

    I’m with you on that. I have issues with being “friends” with some family on facebook. I don’t want all of my family knowing all of my business!!!

  2. katecountsdown says:

    So funny! Some of my friends made my dad a fake Facebook account in college (since he’s such a character), but then when “adults” were actually joining Facebook I deleted it because he was getting friend requests from old classmates etc.

Leave a Reply

