Carbo loading two days early

Tonight felt like a pre-race night–lots of carbs.

But I didn’t intend for that to happen. I’ll explain in a sec. Quick recap.

Lunch at work: Turkey sammie + lettuce + mustard on whole wheat. Courtesy of Real Meal.

Afternoon snack: Animal crackers 🙂

30 minute tempo run + weights + abs at the gym. I ran 3.5 miles total. 5 min @ 6.7; 20 min @ 7.0; 5 min @ 6.7. Plus a 5 minute warm-up and cool-down @ 4.2.

Then dinner for my dad’s birthday!

Too bad it was a complete disaster. 😦

First, I showed up STARVING. I try to manage my hunger levels throughout the day so I am never like legit starving. I know I say I am a lot, but I’m usually just really hungry. Tonight, it was like hunger pains. Bad news.

Anyway, we ordered and everything was fine. I munched on some bread…

I ordered the turkey burger. It sounded fantastic–lean ground turkey, honey mustard, spinach all on a whole wheat bun. How delicious does that sound??

Well, our food took a super long time to get there and when it did, my turkey burger had cheese on it. And I had asked for no cheese. 😦

So I sent it back.

Meanwhile, I told my fam to start eating because I didn’t want their food to get cold.

So I ate some more bread. And the fruit I had ordered in lieu of french fries.

Another 20 or so minutes later the waitress brings out my turkey burger and it appears that all is right in the world. Looks good, huh?

Well, it wasn’t. 😦 It was raw on the inside. My turkey burger was still gobbling. Seriously.

By now I had eaten so much bread that I wasn’t even hungry anymore. I was kind of rude to the waitress because she kept on asking me if I wanted something else and I didn’t–I was frustrated and mad that I ate a loaf a bread for dinner. I was excited for that turkey burger!!

My dad told her to bring me the chili (we had both been eying it earlier) and I got it to go. I’m pretty sure they comped most of the meal–def my food at least.

I had a few bites–and it was actually really really good. Super hearty, lots of beef–it was steak chili. I actually thought it was more just shredded beef with a few beans than actual chili. Either way it was good. I was just so full from all the bread I ate. I packaged up the rest and brought it with me to my parents’ house because I knew my dad would really like it.

So I’m sleeping at my parents’ place tonight (hello old bedroom!) and my mom is giving me a ride to the airport tomorrow morning. 4:00 wake-up call. GROSS.

My flight is at 6:30. Memphis first then on to Austin! I am spending the day with my friends Dan and Laura–they are both teachers in Austin so I am going to hang out at their school for the afternoon! Dan was actually one of my roommates when I lived in Louisiana. And Laura and I were both English teachers. I haven’t seen either of them in a long time so I am SUPER excited to get to spend the afternoon at their school! 🙂

I likely won’t have time to post in the morning–I’ll try to get something up when I get to Austin. Hopefully Dan and Laura’s school has wireless! If not, def something by tomorrow night–when Kasey, Megan and I are reunited!! WOOOOOOOOOOOOOT.

Have a great night/morning/afternoon! 🙂

About Running the Off Season

I am a runner trying to stay healthy and in shape! I try to live a healthy lifestyle through good food choices, exercise, and fun!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Carbo loading two days early

  1. Molly says:

    Good Luck with the race! Vivi misses you this weekend 🙂

Leave a Reply

