The return of the morning workout

Rise and shine! I decided to workout earrrrlllyyy this morning and hit up the gymski.

Since this week is FINALLY my taper week for Austin, I didn’t run today. Following my training plan, I just “stretched and strengthened.” And I did this via a 30-25 workout with Becca.

We started with 30 min. on the elliptical. Nothing too fancy–I did the preset “interval” workout.

Then we did about 25 minutes of weights and finished with abs.

Great way to start my Monday! 🙂

Here’s what my my TAPER week looks like:

Monday: Stretch and Strengthen (30-25 workout)

Tuesday: 4 miles

Wednesday: 30 minute tempo

Thursday: 2 miles + strength

Friday: Off

Saturday: Light cardio or something that will give my legs a little action–maybe walking around Austin with Megan and Kasey??? 😉

Sunday: RACE!

In other news…

I forgot how hungry I get after a morning workout!

Egg scrambler wrap!

In the mix

  • 1 egg + 2 egg whites
  • Sauteed peppers and onions
  • 1/4 cup black beans
  • La Tortilla Company tortilla

And a grapefruit.

My friend Anna and I were discussing grapefruits the other day and I was telling her I never buy them because they are too bitter for me. She suggested I try the red ones (like the one above).

It was toTALLY not bitter! I really liked this kind and it was a nice change-up from the my usual morning fruit choices (bananas, berries, etc.)

Have a great morning, guys!

 

About Running the Off Season

I am a runner trying to stay healthy and in shape! I try to live a healthy lifestyle through good food choices, exercise, and fun!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The return of the morning workout

  1. Pingback: Sleepless | Running the Off Season

Leave a Reply

