Fruits + Veggies

As I mentioned before, all the RevoLULUtionaries heard a brief nutritional lecture at the end of our introductory bootcamp session last night.

Another tid bit of information the instructor gave us was that we should be eating about 7-9 servings of fruits/veggies a day. Does that seem like a lot to you? I don’t know what to think because I guess I always just try to have at least one fruit or vegetable as part of whatever I eat. So I guess maybe that is a lot–if you only have one fruit or veggie per time you eat and you eat 4-5 times per day–that doesn’t equal 7-9 servings!

Our instructor, who is the blogger behind Yum Yoga, suggested starting off our mornings with a smoothie because it’s really easy to get at least 3-4 servings of fruit/veggies with a smoothie.

While I think smoothies are the bomb dot com, I usually want something more substantial for breakfast. Like, my obvious favorite breakfast dish–the egg scramble wrap.

Anyway, I thought it would be interesting to keep track of how many servings of fruits/veggies I get in a day. I am a big fan of fruit–not some much of veggies. So, I am going to try to make a conscious effort of having an even number of servings of fruits/veggies.

Looking back at breakfast, I had two servings of veggies (fire roasted peppers and onions and spinach). I also had a serving of fruit (grapes on the way to school–not pictured). That’s 3 servings right there.

Now, moving on to lunch…

Turkey sammie (turkey, spinach, hummus, and honey mustard); grapes; blueberries

One serving of veggies (spinach)

One serving of fruit (grapes)

Another serving of fruit (blueberries)

Lunchtime total of fruits/veggies: 3 (2 veggie; 1 fruit)

Daily total of fruits/veggies: 6 (2 fruit; 1 veggie)

I’m getting close! 🙂

Have a great afternoon! I’m off to finish my summer job schtuff. Due tomorrow at 5:00 pm!

About Running the Off Season

I am a runner trying to stay healthy and in shape! I try to live a healthy lifestyle through good food choices, exercise, and fun!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fruits + Veggies

  1. Sharis says:

    Hey girl-
    If you throw in some good quality egg yolks and coconut oil (or coconut milk), your morning smoothies will most likely stick with you longer. We do alot of plain yogurt (homemade), egg yolk, coconut oil, raw honey, banana, vanilla smoothies in our house and I was shocked at how long they keep me full!
    Happy blogging! See you Wednesday!!
    Sharis

  2. Pingback: My life in pictures | Running the Off Season

Leave a Reply

