Just one of those days

I woke up to my alarm at 5:15, quickly composed a text message to send to my friend Katherine telling her I was too tired to go to Nate’s class, played one word in a Words with Friends game, and then decided NOT to send the text message.

I got my butt out of bed, threw on my workout clothes, and went to the gym.

And I am SO glad I went. Nate’s class kicked by butt today. But then again, when doesn’t it?

We did two things different this morning. We stayed inside. And we didn’t really run.

Shocking, right?

We stayed inside because this is what we have to deal with

Barf.

We didn’t run because there wasn’t really the space for it. We did lots of stairs and laps around the studio; however, the majority of our workout was circuit training.

And holy crap did I feel out of shape. Like, I’m serious guys. SO out of shape.

We did lunges, Bosu ball exercises, medicine ball exercises, used the gliders, horsepulls, split lunges, side shuffles, bicep curls, and the worst was the towel drill. Gag. I hate this guy. Basically you take a towel and have to push it across the studio–down and back counts as one–2.5 times. Try it. Your quads will literally be on fire. I’m not kidding. We had to use a fire extinguisher on this one dude. 😉

But in all seriousness, we did tons of these drills (and I’m probs forgetting some) and throw in some stair sprints…and you’ll get me feeling like I’ve never worked out a day in my life.

It was a great workout. 🙂

Obviously I was STARVING when I got home.

Breakfast: Egg scrambler!

In the mix

  • 1/2 cup Egg Beaters
  • 1/4 cup black beans
  • Trader Joe’s fire roasted peppers and onions
  • Light English muffin

Yum.

In other news…

I was perusing runnersworld.com this morning and found this really great article on GPS watches. I am a HUGE fan of the Garmin ( I have a 305). But I have a Timex regular watch…which I also love. This article weighs the Garmin 210 against Timex’s Global Trainer.

To conduct his test, the author wore both GPS watches out on a run.  He reports that both were relatively close with the mileage tracking; however, he’d choose the Garmin because it picked up the satellite signal faster, it was easier to read, and it was not as bulky as the Timex GPS.

That being said, the author does note that the Timex watch was designed for triathletes. It’s waterproof and records changes in elevation.

Some other interesting Runner’s World articles

No Gain–avoid gaining weight during the “off season.”

The Best Foods for Runners–List of 15 foods that can help your performance

Foam Roller–Video with some foam rolling exercises.

Have a great morning! 🙂

P.S. This is my new fav workout song. The video is kinda weird though.

Memories–David Guetta (Feat. Kid Cudi)

About Running the Off Season

I am a runner trying to stay healthy and in shape! I try to live a healthy lifestyle through good food choices, exercise, and fun!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Just one of those days

  1. Pingback: The Arctic Circle | Running the Off Season

Leave a Reply

