Textbooks are expensive

One of the downsides to law school is how much money I spend on textbooks each semester. After purchasing ALL my books from the bookstore first semester of my 1L year, I got smart and ordered them from Amazon for the following semesters.

I have been very happy with my textbook purchases from Amazon. I can usually find a good deal and I haven’t had a problem with the textbooks getting to me on time. The quality has been good too. I had nothing to complain about.

That is, until a few days ago. 😦

This semester I am taking Comparative Constitutional Law and the textbook is super pricey…even on Amazon. So, I scoured the used textbooks and thought I found a steal of a deal.

Here is the seller’s description: “Used–like new. Like new and clean. Some shelf wear.”

This had to be too good to be true.

And it was.

I have the book ready to be shipped back and it’s currently in my car. I’ll take some pictures of it to post later but OH MY GOD was the seller’s description ever a lie!

Not only was the binding practically falling off (“some shelf wear”??) but there were notes written ALL over the place. The condition of this book was the exact opposite of “new and clean”.

Needless to say, I was pretty ticked off. I contacted the seller and informed them (politely) that I wanted to return the book because the description of the book did not match the actual condition of the book. Fortunately, the seller will take the book back. However, he/she kept apologizing for “sending me the wrong book.”

I made sure that he/she understood that I was sent the correct book but that the book’s description was not correct.

Annnnyyyway I ended up having to pay the PRICEY price for a copy of the textbook from the bookstore. Class starts Friday and I don’t have enough time to get another copy. Boo Radley. 😦

Lunch

Lunch made up for having to spend an arm and a leg for that textbook. I went over to Anna’s and had lunch with Anna, Jess (Anna’s sister) and Anna’s mom, Mrs. F. 🙂 Oh, and I can’t forget about the babies!

Anna had all the supplies for making sandwiches. I supplied the chips and dessert.

Turkey sammie on whole wheat with spinach and a mix of honey mustard and stone ground mustard. SO good.

Some BBQ kettle chips.

I also snacked on some Sun Chips–Garden Salsa. SO good.

Dessert: MONSTER COOKIES!

I got these at Lunds and they did not disappoint. They are right up there with the cookies Molly made last week. Thankfully, I restrained myself today and only had one.  Wish I could have exercised a little self-control with the IGE cookies! 🙂

After lunch we played with the babies. 🙂 Isla slept most of the time, but AJ was all over Anna’s iPad and my camera lens. Ava Joan is already going digital.

Three generations of beautiful ladies. 🙂

Look at those baby blues… 😉

I’m going to attempt (key word here=attempt) to get some reading done for my class on Friday. However, Boardwalk Empire is so much more interesting than Comparative Constitutional Law. 😉

I’m heading back to Anna’s tonight to watch The Social Network. Neither of us has seen it yet and we were talking today about how we both really want to!

So, movie night tonight! 🙂

Have any of you seen The Social Network? Thoughts?

About Running the Off Season

I am a runner trying to stay healthy and in shape! I try to live a healthy lifestyle through good food choices, exercise, and fun!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Textbooks are expensive

  1. Ellen fee says:

    LOVE that movie, my favorite of 2010! Maybe I’ll swing by to watch part of it with you! 🙂

  2. oh i love when you post pics of the babies! is annas hair brown?!!? her and her babies look beautiful as always-give them a hug for me!

    kiley

    http://asequindressatbreakfast.wordpress.com

  3. Pingback: Movie night! | Running the Off Season

  4. Pingback: Getting organized | Running the Off Season

  5. Don’t feel bad – nobody can constrain themselves around those cookies!!

Leave a Reply

