Tempo time

All that practicing made me hungry!

Afternoon snack: small cup of oatmeal + fruit + almonds + mini choco chips.

When I first made my oatmeal, I only added the fruit.

But it didn’t taste that great, so I added slivered almonds and mini chocolate chips. And the world was right again. 🙂

In the mix

1/4 cup Quaker Oats

1/4 cup skim milk

1/4 cup water

Blueberries, cut up 1 strawberry, sprinkle of slivered almonds and mini chocolate chips

Later, it was gym time. And our workout was a success! Becca and I destroyed our tempo run tonight. 🙂

I broke down our run for you.

I was inspired by this article on tempo runs. Specifically, #4 under the “4 Tempo Run Workouts” section.

During the actual “tempo” part of our run I felt GREAT. 🙂 Such a relief after feeling pretty crappy this afternoon about running. Becca and I chatted with ease during the beginning parts of our tempo run but once we got to minutes 15-35 we had to ease back a bit. Which is exactly what a tempo run should feel like–you can carry on a conversation but you’re kinda breathless. Success!

After our run we hit the mats for abs. Sooo glad we did that since I skipped abs on Monday.

Thankfully, Becca drove me home so I didn’t have to walk back in the cold/dark! Thanks again, Becca! 🙂

I came home ravenous (love that word). I needed a quick and easy meal.

Enter: Chili (last of it) and sweet potato fries!

I broke up a piece of cornbread to make cornbread “croutons”

And some sweet potato fries…lay off me I’m starving. 😉 I love that old SNL clip. Never gets old!

Sufficiently stuffed. 🙂

I’m going to practice my argument a few more times then hit the hay! I’m exhausted.

Joe’s spin class in the morning…then it’s go time at 9:30!

I probably won’t have time to post before my argument but I’ll def have something up by lunch. Anna and I are going out to Molly’s for lunch tomorrow!

About Running the Off Season

I am a runner trying to stay healthy and in shape! I try to live a healthy lifestyle through good food choices, exercise, and fun!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tempo time

  1. Chelsea @ Strawberry Sweat says:

    What a great run! That’s the only good part of treadmills–it’s easier to keep trace of pace during tempo and interval runs.

    I had to laugh out loud at your comment on my blog about the Irish and their view of gyms. I lived with 3 Irish exchange students during my 1L year, and their idea of fitness was seeing how long you could drink all night 🙂 Needless to say, my grades have drastically improved since I moved into my own place!

  2. Lindsey says:

    i’m jealous! squeeze all the babies for me tomorrow! and hi to the mamas too 🙂

  3. Pingback: Getting an early start | Running the Off Season

Leave a Reply

