Keeping warm…

As I mentioned this morning, I am seeeeeriously struggling with running outside this winter. I have put in one long run (and 9 miles really isn’t that long). Other than that, I have been doing a lot of shorter runs and speed work (i.e., Nate’s class) but I really haven’t logged any distance.

And this scares me.

I have the Austin Half-Marathon coming up and while I have no doubt that I’ll be able to finish, I want to finish strong and I want to finish in a time I am happy with (sub 2:00). I beat myself up pretty bad when I don’t make my goal times for races. 😦

This Runner’s World article was in my inbox this morning: “Comfort Zones: What to wear when it’s cold out–no matter where you live.”

But this doesn’t really help me. I have the cold weather gear plus I got a new neck warmer, ear warmer and pair of mittens for Christmas. Side note–the Craft running mittens I got from Santa are the WARMEST MITTENS IN THE HISTORY OF THE WORLD. When I ran the Polar Dash last Saturday my legs were numb and my body was cold…but my hands were sooooo warm. 🙂

Annnyway…I guess I am just frustrated with the fact that I feel like my running is suffering because I can’t get over the cold weather and crappy running conditions.

And let me emphasize crappy. People don’t shovel, my mile times are SO slow, and I feel like I’m slipping and sliding all over the place. And it’s discouraging. I could take to street running…that’s where we ran for the Polar Dash and I ran pretty fast in that race! 🙂

Sorry for complaining…but I need some help! How do I beat the running winter blues??

Moving on…

Lunch: In an attempt to not eat breakfast for lunch again, I decided to try a NEW lunch recipe. Well, I don’t know it it’s new, but it’s new to me!

Egg salad no mayo

Egg salad scares me. It doesn’t (and still doesn’t) look appealing to me. Not to mention it’s likely chock-full of mayo (I hate white condiments, especially mayo).

But I was talking to someone or read some recipe somewhere about egg salad used with just mustard and no mayo (I can’t remember which). And I thought to myself, “Hmmm…that doesn’t sound bad! I love eggs and I love mustard…”

Enter: Egg salad sammie no mayo!

I still think it looks kinda gross.

And some water! Staying on track with my resolution to drink more of it! 🙂

In the mix

1 hard-boiled egg, 1 hard-boiled egg white (just removed the yolk)

Yellow mustard

Spinach

Pepper to taste

Sandwich thin

The Process

1. First I boiled 2 eggs for 20 minutes. This might be a bit long, I’m not sure. I still don’t know how to tell when the egg is hard-boiled. I just know that you can’t tell by shaking it. Yes, I did that once. So sue me. 😉

2. After 20 minutes I put the two eggs in a little dish of cold water and let them cool off for about 5-8 minutes.

3. After the eggs were cooled, I peeled the little guys and removed one of the yolks.

4. and 5. I added some yellow mustard and mashed it up!

6. I added some spinach to my sandwich thin and topped it with the egg salad. Then sprinkled on some pepper.

Now, my review.

It wasn’t bad. I wasn’t a HUGE fan of the consistency (mushy) but the taste was fine. It actually didn’t really taste like anything. Well, hold on. I could definitely taste the mustard. But that was about it.

Toasting the sandwich thin was clutch. That added some must needed crunch to the sandwich. I would probably make this again, but only if I really had nothing else to make…like today.

In other news..

Did you guys hear about the 4,000-5,000 birds that all just dropped dead from the sky? It happened a few days ago in Arkansas. Last I read, scientists believed the birds died from some sort of massive trauma, like lightening. I found this really interesting Time article entitled “Top 10 Strange Mass Animal Deaths“. I love reading weird stuff like this. Don’t judge.

Run me….

I’m meeting Becca at the gym at 5:30 to bang out a little 40 minute tempo run and some weights/abs 🙂

I’ve also sort of re-tooled my original Austin Half-Marathon training plan. Before, I was sort of following Hal Higdon’s (aka guru of marathon training) Advanced training plan.

However, this afternoon I was thinking over my typical workout schedule and I usually find myself running for distance rather than time. Also, I haven’t done a single Hal Higdon speed workout. Thus,  I’ve decided to switch to the Intermediate half-marathon training program.

This level fits better with my style of training…plus it puts speed work on Wednesdays, which is perfect because that’s Nate’s class.

We are at Week 6 of training so, as I said above, tonight is a 40 minute tempo workout!

Here’s what Hal Higdon says about tempo runs:

“This is a continuous run with a buildup in the middle to near 10-K race pace. A Tempo Run of 30 to 45 minutes would begin with 10-15 minutes easy running, build to 15-20 minutes near the middle, then 5-10 minutes easy toward the end. The pace buildup should be gradual, not sudden, with peak speed coming about two-thirds into the workout. Hold that peak only for a minute or two. I consider Tempo Runs to be the “Thinking Runner’s Workout.” A Tempo Run can be as hard or easy as you want to make it, and it has nothing to do with how long (in time) you run or how far. In fact, the times prescribed for Tempo Runs serve mainly as rough guidelines. Feel free to improvise. Improvisation is the heart of doing a Tempo Run correctly.”

I know I’ll still change some stuff around. For example, on Monday’s I’ll probably do my interval workout plus some weights. And on Saturdays, I’ll do Erica’s class in addition to whatever marathon run I’m scheduled to do. I’m not sure when I’ll take my off days because I enjoy going to Nate’s class on Fridays. My judicial externship will be on Tuesdays and Thursdays (starting next week) so maybe I’ll take Tuesdays as my off day? We all know I won’t miss Joe’s spin class on Thursdays! 😉

Ok…I’m out! Have a fantastic afternoon! I will be practicing my argument for the rest of the day.

To give you a visual–I will be pacing the living room of my place, talking to the three imaginary judges on my couch, trying not to look at my paper and trying to convince them that the unemployment law judge was right and that Ms. “Blank” deserves unemployment benefits!

About Running the Off Season

I am a runner trying to stay healthy and in shape! I try to live a healthy lifestyle through good food choices, exercise, and fun!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Keeping warm…

  1. Pingback: Tempo time | Running the Off Season

  2. Pingback: Tough as nails. | Running the Off Season

Leave a Reply

