There’s an app for that.

This week/weekend has been a smashing success. I’ve made some AWESOME new friends, had an amazing NYE, and the MN Wild won tonight!

Let’s start from the beginning, shall we?

My former ACE roomie and good friend, Derek, came into town last Tuesday for the wedding of one of his college buddies, Troy.

I then met all of his good college friends and hung out with them all week…which was great. My week o’ fun finished with an invitation to the wedding.

The wedding was amazing! Both the bride and groom looked stunning and so happy. 🙂 We had lots of fun dancing the night away…

Friday was New Year’s Eve and this year I changed up my normal routine (going out and spending way too much $$$) and instead went over to my friends Anna and Joe’s place for dinner, drinks, board games, and football. My friend KC (fellow ACEr also in town for the wedding) joined us and we had a BLAST! We played two intense games of Cranium and had a delish meal…sorry I totes neglected to take any photos.

KC departed on New Year’s Day and I started off 2011 running the Polar Dash. I decreased my 10k time from 57 minutes (Drumstick Dash) to 52:15. 🙂

After my race, I was off to pick up Carlos, also in town for the wedding. I offered my guest bedroom to Carlos so he wouldn’t have to pay for a hotel room for the weekend (and who am I trying to kid here, I love having house guests 🙂 ).

Anwayyyyy, then Carlos and I dominated the Mall of America and then spent a chill night watching the Rose Bowl and Fiesta Bowl. Not a bad Saturday night if you ask me! 🙂

And then we get to today. Absolutely AMAZING Sunday! And it started off at the gym. I did an interval workout and put in 4.5 miles. I followed my workout with about 10 minutes of abs.

Breakfast followed. I made fruity pancakes for Carlos and me. He was a fan. 🙂

In the Mix (serves 2):

1 cup Fiber One pancake mix

1 cup mixed blueberries and raspberries

After breakfast we took a walk into downtown Minneapolis and hit up Banana Republic, Macy’s, Barnes and Noble, and the Gap.

Panera for lunch. Soup+whole wheat baguette

And a chai tea.

Carlos is visiting from Mexico City and I couldn’t let him leave MN without seeing some HOCKEY!!!

I got a delish in a dish pretzel.

Topped off with Dijon mustard.

Carlos got a braut.

SCORE!!

This little girl didn’t like all the noise. 😦

During the second and third periods my dad, Carlos, and I walked around the arena. My dad wanted to show Carlos all the hockey memorabilia that’s on display.

We met Wally the Beer Man! He’s a famous beer vendor…sells beer at all the major sporting events around the Twin Cities (Twins, Wild, Vikings). Everyone knows who he is…he is known for his loud, booming voice. He walks up and down the stadium stairs yelling, “Beeeeeerrrrr!” It’s great. 🙂

We also checked out some used hockey sticks…used by the players and then signed. Very cool.

It was a really exciting game because we scored with about 25 seconds left to tie the game…And then scored to win the game!!!

What an exciting game! 🙂

After the game, Carlos and I headed back to my place, made some dinner, and are now having a “work party.” Aka sitting at my dining room table doing work for our respective jobs. Sounds fun, right?

Carlos’ salad

and we topped off our dinner with some hot coco.

I did a good job making mine. Used sugar-free Swiss Miss. Soooo good.

Carlos, on the other hand, did not.

Slick.

Notice the marshmallows stuck to the side. 😉

Good night, friends

About Running the Off Season

I am a runner trying to stay healthy and in shape! I try to live a healthy lifestyle through good food choices, exercise, and fun!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to There’s an app for that.

  1. Pingback: Healthy winter foods | Running the Off Season

  2. Pingback: Eat. Sleep. Repeat. | Running the Off Season

  3. Pingback: Spring? | Running the Off Season

Leave a Reply

