Happy New Year!

It’s 2011…can you believe it??

My new year started out with the Polar Dash 10k race…it was COLD but really fun!

My morning started with lots of layers and half of a honeycrisp apple

6 degrees?? Yep. Super cold, right?

Everyone at the race was bundled up…

I was a bit nervous starting out…I thought the cold combined with the poor running conditions (lots of ice/packed snow) would equal a super slow race time.

But I was wrong! ๐Ÿ™‚

I originally started with the 9:00 pace group.

But as we started running, I was feeling great!

Mile 1: 8:33

Mile 2: 8:42

I then caught up with that 8:52 pace group and stuck with them for a mile.

Mile 3: 8:42

After mile 3 I felt awesome so I turned it up a little bit and ran ahead of the 8:52 pace group.

Mile 4: 8:17

Mile 5: 8:20

Mile 6: 8:15

Mile .2: 1:23 (6:55 pace)

Total time: 52:15

I was PUMPED! Compared to my Drumstick Dash 10k time of 57:19.

It must have been the few glasses of wine I had at Anna’s place New Year’s Eve. ๐Ÿ˜‰

After my race I was not only FREEZING but also hungry. I ate a mini salted nut roll in my car (race swag) and attempted to warm up. Didn’t really work though.

Breakfast: Healthy egg sammie

In the mix

1/2 cup Egg Beaters

2 slices Turkey Bacon

Spinach

Sandwich thin

After breakfast I zipped over to St. Paul and picked up my friend Carlos. Carlos was one of Derek’s buddies that was also in town for the wedding I went to the other night.

Carlos demanded that we hit up the Mall of America. I actually hate going there because it’s super crowded, hard to park…just overwhelming. But I wanted to be a good hostess and he’s only here once so I sucked it up and we drove out to the MOA. I’m exaggerating a bit…I didn’t mind a bit about going…I just wanted to give him a hard time. ๐Ÿ™‚

We walked around every floor…a total of 2.4 miles! And we worked up an appetite.

We hit up Famous Dave’s. I didn’t take a picture of my lunch but I got the BBQ pulled chicken salad with no cheese and bbq sauce dressing on the side. I wasn’t that impressed…the chicken was super dry and looked kinda gross. But the DELICIOUS corn muffin made up for it. Famous Dave’s has the best corn muffins in the world. Legit.

Carlos got the Georgia Chopped Pork and his review based on a 1-10 scale (“10 being a Michelin Guide restaurant and a 1 being McDonald’s”–his words ๐Ÿ™‚ ): 3.5

Thus, our meal was sub-par.

We continued shopping for the rest of the afternoon/early evening.

I came away with a boot jack and a delicious Godiva pecan turtle.

Boot jack (used to take off my cowboy boots)

And I enjoyed this gem when we got home…while sipping on a Crispin cider and catching the end of the Rose Bowl.

And the best part of this turtle…guess how much it was??

$3.67. Can you believe that! We couldn’t! Carlos and I were both like, “You’ve GOT to be kidding me!!!”

It was good…but so expensive!

After the Rose Bowl I threw together dinner for Carlos and me.

Raspberry walnut chicken salads!

I brought this to Anna’s last night but we totally forgot to eat it! Oh well, more salad for me!

I candied the walnuts myself! I was pretty proud of that…I simply heated up some sugar and the walnuts in a saucepan and let the sugar melt and then stick to the walnuts. Super simps.

I added some of the raspberry walnut vinaigrette to the chicken before I heated it up. Not the best decision…it didn’t taste bad…but it wasn’t good either. And it looks weird!

Now I’m just munchin on some graham crackers (also part of the race swag) and watching the Fiesta Bowl. I can see an On Demand movie in my near future. ๐Ÿ˜‰

In other news…

I FINALLY got all my old medals and other race memorabilia from my parents house. Now I can finally use one of my Christmas presents!

My new medal holder!

With my newest medal…:)

All together now…

Have a great evening! Back to regular blogging schedule tomorrow…promise!

About Running the Off Season

I am a runner trying to stay healthy and in shape! I try to live a healthy lifestyle through good food choices, exercise, and fun!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Happy New Year!

  1. Pingback: There’s an app for that. | Running the Off Season

  2. Pingback: Keeping warm… | Running the Off Season

  3. Pingback: Tough as nails. | Running the Off Season

  4. Pingback: Crock Pot Chicken Chili! | Running the Off Season

  5. Pingback: TRX class recap | Running the Off Season

  6. Pingback: What to do with all your race stuff | Running the Off Season

Leave a Reply

