Put your game face on!

Put your game face on because it’s go time! Finals season is upon us…just gotta get through next Friday and I’ll be done with my in-class exams.ย  I have a takehome due the 22nd and while I plan on working on it a bit this week I likely won’t turn it in until Monday, the 21st.

In other news…

I got the Glee Christmas album! It is AWESOME. I am playing it right now ๐Ÿ™‚ The Christmas episode is on tonight! Here’s another preview.

Source

I got an email last night from my friend, Mary, who also workouts out at my gym, asking if I wanted to come in early to swim…obviously! So I got up a bit earlier and went in to swim before my run. Since I was going to be working out for more than an hour I knew it would be a good idea to get something in my system pre-workout.

Pre-workout fuel: whole wheat toast with peanut butter.

I didn’t make it in as early as Mary and Pam (5:15) but I got in at about 5:45 and swam until about 6:00.

Then I met Becca upstairs and we did a 3 mile treadmill workout and some weights. My mile splits

Mile 1: 9:13 (6.5 mph)

Mile 2: 8:34 (7.0 mph)

Mile 3: 8:00 (7.5 mph)

Weights: Free weights (biceps and triceps) and some abs and triceps with one of the weight machines.

After my workout I was prettttyyyy hungry. I made eggs and some fruit and yogurt.

Eggs (1/2 egg beaters + fire roasted peppers and onions + 1/4 cup black beans)

I also had some fruit (3/4 cup mixed berries) + a dollop (little less than 1/4 cup) of TJ’s nonfat Greek vanilla yogurt + a sprinkle of Kashi Go Lean!

And I used frozen fruit this time. I usually only buy fresh fruit. However, when I went grocery shopping for the week last Friday, all the fresh berries I usually buy (blueberries, raspberries, strawberries) were SO expensive!! Strawberries were $4.99 for a container, blueberries were I think $3.99 and raspberries were $5.99!!! I mean, that is just ridic.

So, I decided to give frozen fruit a chance. I got all the all natural stuff–no added sugars or anything–just straight up fruit. I thawed out the fruit beforehand. The verdict: The raspberries and blueberries were fine…but the strawberries were super mushy. Frozen fruit is perfect for smoothie making…I don’t know about fruit and yogurt bowls though.

It wasn’t bad…just different. I miss my fresh fruit. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ So I guess I either need to win the lottery (so money isn’t a problem when it comes to buying groceries) or move somewhere warm! ๐Ÿ™‚

I’m done with work until after finals are over…so that means I’m off to the library!

Toodles…have a good morning!

About Running the Off Season

I am a runner trying to stay healthy and in shape! I try to live a healthy lifestyle through good food choices, exercise, and fun!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Put your game face on!

  1. Pingback: Do work Wednesdays | Running the Off Season

  2. Pingback: This is it. | Running the Off Season

Leave a Reply

