What a day!

Today has been so great! I got to spend some QT with the newest member of Anna and Joe’s family–Isla Grace! Congrats again to you two…and of course Isla’s big sis, Ava Joan! 🙂

I had my last two Monday classes this afternoon…which means finals are right around the corner….ughhhhhhhh.

Afternoon snack: Repeat of hummus, pita, and carrot sticks.

This evening has been chalk full of studying and making dinner. I tried another new recipe tonight! I feel really inspired to try new things towards the beginning of the week..but once Wednesday hits, I want quick and easy meals. Tonight’s meal was not quick…at least by my standards. 😉

New Recipe #2: Healthy Potato Skins!

I once again used the recipe book “Cooking Yourself Thin.” All those tags are recipes I want to try out.

Side note: Because this meal took over an hour and a half to make I had a little app: small serving of Peanut Noodles.

Here’s the recipe from the book. I kind of altered it a bit to eliminate ingredients I didn’t like and also to cut the serving size down. I’ll make note of the things I changed.

Healthy Potato Skin from “Cooking Yourself Thin”

Serves 2

Calories per serving: 420

Ingredients

  • 2 medium sweet potatoes (I used 1)
  • 1 teaspoon olive oil (I used 1/2 teaspoon)
  • 1 small onion, diced (I used 1/2 onion, diced)
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 bag baby spinach (about 9 oz) (I used a handful of spinach)
  • 2 scallions, thinly sliced (I used 1)
  • 2 slices turkey bacon
  • 4 oz low-fat cream cheese (did not use)
  • 1/4 cup low-fat buttermilk (did not use)
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • 1 teaspoon vegetable oil (did not use)
  • 2 tablespoons grated Parmesan cheese (did not use)

Step 1

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

Step 2

Put the sweet potato(es) on a baking sheet. Bake for about 45 minutes or until fork tender.

Note: I baked mine for 60 minutes and because the sweet potato wasn’t fork tender yet I upped the temp to 400 degrees and cooked for another 15 minutes.

Step 3

Heat the olive oil and cook the onion until soft (2-3 minutes). Then add the garlic and cook for about another minute. Then add the spinach and scallions, cover, and cook until the spinach has wilted (3-4 minutes).

Step 4

In another pan, cook the turkey bacon until crisp. When cooled, chop up the bacon into small pieces.

Step 5

When the sweet potato is done, let it cool for 5 minutes. After it’s cooled, slice it in half and scoop out the insides into a bowl. Add the spinach, onions, bacon, etc. (cream cheese, buttermilk, salt pepper) and mash it together until smooth.

Note: I did not use the cream cheese or buttermilk because I don’t like the taste.

Step 6

Using a pastry brush, coat the skins with vegetable oil. Fill each of the shells with the sweet potato filling and top with sprinkles of Parmesan cheese. Put the filled skins back onto the baking sheet and bake for another 15-20 minutes or until the top is golden brown and the skins are crispy. Top with bits of turkey bacon and serve.

Note: I did not have a pastry brush and had no idea how to coat the vegetable oil on the skins, so I didn’t do it. Also, because I hate cheese, I did not use the Parmesan cheese

Step 7

Enjoy!

My review: I liked these better than last night’s new recipe. Pros: The bacon was such a great addition–it added a delicious smokey flavor to the dish. Cons: I wish they were a bit crispier. I don’t think you can call these “potato skins”…more like twice baked potato? Would I make this again? Definitely. It was a great change from the usual way I make sweet potatoes…aka sweet potato fries! Plus, I got a serving or two of veggies in! I really loaded it up with the veggies. 🙂

 

In other news…

So I never ran today…so it looks like today will be my off day! Rescheduled workout plan for the week goes as follows:

Monday: Off

Tuesday: 3 miles + weights (plan calls for speed work but I’ll get that at Nate’s class)

Wednesday: Nate’s class (plan calls for 3 miles + weights–I’ll get this with Nate’s workout)

Thursday: Joe’s spin class FINALLY (plan calls for 45 min tempo run)

Friday: Nate’s class

Saturday: 3 mi + Erica’s class

Sunday: 90 min run.

Ok…my Family Law textbook is calling my name! Have a great evening everyone!


About Running the Off Season

I am a runner trying to stay healthy and in shape! I try to live a healthy lifestyle through good food choices, exercise, and fun!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

