My internet is back and working!

So annoying when the internet is down! Thanks to my friend, Charlie, for posting a link on my facebook that showed me how to reset my server!

My day was spent at the library…joy.

Late lunch/afternoon snack: Pita, carrot sticks and hummus.

I tentatively planned out my week’s meals and shopped accordingly on Friday. I want to try making some new dishes/using the cookbooks that have been gathering dust on my kitchen counter. 🙂 So last Thursday night I pulled a few recipes I wanted to try this week.

New Recipe #1: Sesame Peanut Noodles

I got the recipe from the cookbook “Cooking Yourself Thin.”

Here’s what the book looks like (Source).

The recipe is located on p. 133. But I’ll summarize it below.

Serves 6

Calories per serving: 308

For the Noodles:

8 oz whole wheat spaghetti

For the dressing: I cut this in half because I was originally going to make just half of what the recipe called for…BUT I kinda messed this up. I’ll explain below

2 tablespoons rice vinegar

1/4 cup low-sodium soy sauce

1/4 cup peanut butter

2 tablespoons grated ginger

1 tablespoon dark sesame oil

1 teaspoon brown sugar

Juice of one lime

1/2 cup hot water

For the assembly:

1/2 bag store-bought coleslaw mix (I used TJ’s)

1/2 cup red pepper (I used about 3/4 cup fire roasted peppers and onions)

1/2 cup cilanto, chopped

1/2 lime, squeezed

1/2 cup apple (I used a whole apple)

1/2 cup jicama (I used a whole jicama)

1 teaspoon toasted sesame seeds

2 scallions, julienne (I just cut these regular)

For the garnish:

1/2 cup dry-roasted peanuts

Cilantro, choped

Lime wedges

The Process

I didn’t want to make a 6 serving portion, so I cut most of the ingredients in half. Well, at least for the dressing portion. I had no idea what 4 oz of spaghetti looks like so I just kinda winged it. And I made too much (see below). And I also accidentally didn’t half the hot water so I used a full 1/2 cup when I should have used 1/4 cup. I also didn’t want to just use half an apple, half the jicama, or half the bag of slaw (would go bad soon) so I just used all of those ingredients. Needless to say my plan to make half the recipe blew up in my face.

Step 1:

Cook the pasta. Drain and run under cold water.

Step 2:

Combine all the dressing ingredients in a mixing bowl and whisk. Add the dressing to the pasta and mix it upppppppp! Then add in the coleslaw mix, red pepper, and cilantro. Squeeze half a lime and mix it upppppppp again.

Step 3:

Add the rest of the ingredients (apple, jicma, scallions, cilantro, sesame seeds) and mix it upppppp one last time! Throw it in the fridge for an hour (please, like I lasted that long, I only did it for 30 min). Garnish with dry-roasted peanuts, chopped cilantro, and lime wedges.

SO MUCH FOOD. Who want’s leftovers??? 😉

Step 4:

ENJOY!

My review: It was good and probably would have been better had I followed the directions more closely. I just have way too much leftover…and I have no idea how long it will keep…I have a sinking feeling the apples are going to be brown and mushy by tomorrow morning. We’ll see!

In other news…

Week #2 for Austin starts tomorrow! My week’s plan goes as follows…I don’t have an off day scheduled yet…I might take it tomorrow (Monday) depending on how I feel in the morning.

Monday: 3 miles + strength

Tuesday: 7 x 400 at 5k pace (8:30/mile)

Wednesday: Nate’s class (plan calls for 3 miles + weights)

Thursday: Joe’s spin class (FINALLY!!!) (Plan calls for 45 min tempo).

Friday: Nate’s class (plan calls for an off day and if I haven’t used it yet I’ll likely skip Nate’s class).

Saturday: Erica’s class +  3 miles pace (8:50/mile)

Sunday: 90 minute run

In other other news…

My last two days of class are tomorrow and Tuesday! Eeeek the cat!

Goodnight!

About Running the Off Season

I am a runner trying to stay healthy and in shape! I try to live a healthy lifestyle through good food choices, exercise, and fun!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My internet is back and working!

  1. Pingback: What a day! | Running the Off Season

Leave a Reply

