Cookie Monster

I have been a cookie monster these last few days.

Thursday, I baked cookies with the little girls I babysit.

Yesterday, I went to Starbucks for a study break–Nonfat Chai-tea latte + cookie.

Last night I had another Christmas cookie–the girls made another batch of cookies with some friends! Pretty talented, right? šŸ™‚

My cookie.

And FINALLY today…delicious m&m cookie from The Good Earth.

I swear, I’m done…at least for today. šŸ˜‰

Moving on…

Jam packed afternoon yesterday–studying my butt off and then I babysat again.

Quick dinner before babysitting: BBQ chicken pita with spinach

I picked up some pita pockets at the grocery store the other day and I was super excited to try these babies out.

I love pita bread because everything stays inside and it’s less messy….right?

Wrong. Pita fail. Here’s a shot of the back of the pita…it ripped open the moment I tried to open it to put the BBQ chicken in…:(

Still good though! šŸ™‚

I also munched on some pretzel rods while I was babysitting…so delicious.

Today

I had every intention of running today…but once I got to the gym I realized that it was just too cold to run. Lucky for me I had my spin shoes in my car and decided to take Jackie’s 8:30am spin class!

And it was worth it. Jackie’s class is super high energy, great music, and HOT. She cranks up the heat so everyone is a sweaty mess when class is over.

Post-workout I snacked on some grapes.

Then I met Molly at The Good Earth for brunch! Seriously, love this place. Organic, healthy, and delicious!

We ordered Breakfast Parfaits.

My parfait

In the mix

Homemade granola

Low-fat vanilla yogurt

Fresh fruit (strawberries, mangoes and kiwi)

SO good. Here’s a pick after I dug in. šŸ™‚ The granola was delish! But there wasn’t very much. Less than 1/8 cup. I would have loved more crunch!

And a cup of coffee for good measure.

And how cute is this little milk jug??

Molly and I then walked around the Galleria (mall where The Good Earth is) and guess who we saw???

Santa! Sorry this shot is from so far away…I felt creepy taking a close-up one.

We went into this store which had a ton of really cool artwork! There was this one piece of artwork that Molly and I both LOVED. I tried to snap a pic on the sly…wasn’t that successful. But I think it does a good job of giving you an idea of what the art looked like.

It was well over $300 and we were both like, “We could totally make something like that ourselves!” So we have plans over break to do something artsy…Molly’s husband has some mad building skillz and we’re hoping he’ll whip up something similar to the wood paneling backdrop of this piece of art.

The thing that we loved most about this piece though was the poem. I figured it was probably by someone famous so after we left the store I googled it…and it happens to be by my favorite poet, e.e. cummings! When I was a teacher, I always taught a few poems by e.e. cummings during our poetry units. His poems seem very simple; however, they’re actually really deep and filled with figurative language, imagery, and symbolism. I loved teaching about him because my students could easily navigate the poems and liked them because they are usually pretty short! šŸ˜‰

e.e. cummings has (had) a pretty unconventional style of writing his poems. For example,Ā  we would use all lower case letters and what seemed like incomplete sentences or randomly placed punctuation marks. But his idiosyncrasies all have a purpose and trying to discover that purpose is part of why I love e.e. cummings’ work.

Here is the whole poem that was featured on the wooden art piece…I’ve bolded that verses that were actually on the piece.

So pretty, don’t you think? I found the full text of the poem here…it’s the blog of an AMAZING photographer who takes super vintage-y pics (engagement, wedding, etc)…if only she didn’t live in Atlanta…oh, wait, I’m also not in need of a wedding photographer…but I’ve looked through her work and you should def check her out!

Side-note: I was a photo minor in college and loveeee finding random photography blogs online and just looking through their work. A few of my favs–three are local, one is from MT (he photographed my two best friends’ weddings).

Studio Blue Photography (local–I discovered Studio Blue through facebook (creepy?) and obvi had to check them out. I don’t know anyone who has used them but their work is soooo cool. Especially the “Blue Booth.”)

La-de-da Photography (local–Melissa is absolutely amazing–she photographed a friends’ engagement sesh and will also be shooting their wedding. I got to know her through my work with The Big Trade Up. Melissa has volunteered her services and will be the official photographer for The Big Wedding Trade Up!)

C Wenthur Photography (local–Carle is a friend/wife of my high school hockey coach/my inspiration for wanting to study photography in college! Amazing work.)

Eye In The Sky Photography (Since Keane shot both Molly and Anna’s weddings my friends and I have gotten to know him and not only is he super awesome but his work is out of this world.)

ANYWAY, I guess my points are that 1) I love e.e. cummings and 2) I love photography. šŸ™‚

P.S. You can check out some more of e.e. cummings work here.

Two of my favs:

in Just-

since feeling is first (the best line from this poem “And death i think is no parenthesis”)

Ok…I should really get going on some school work!

About Running the Off Season

I am a runner trying to stay healthy and in shape! I try to live a healthy lifestyle through good food choices, exercise, and fun!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

