A return to an old favorite

Afternoon snack: Multigrain toast with sunflower butter and 1/2 banana

Later afternoon snack: Homemade cookies courtesy of my friend Jenny! They were soooo good…I believe they were Monster Cookies…aka best cookies on the face of this earth. M&Ms, peanut butter, oatmeal…heaven. 🙂

Dinner: BBQ chicken (no cheese) pizza! A return to an old favorite! Steps here on how I made it.

In the Mix

Light Original FlatOut (crust)

Grilled peppers and onions (TJ’s style)

Crock pot chicken

Stubs BBQ sauce

In other news…

Some of us are fortunate (?) enough never to have to run in the cold. I am not one of those people. This morning’s workout is a perfect example…it was FREEZING. But I am not going to let the winter ruin all the hardwork and training I’ve put in over the summer/fall.

This year, winter will not be my off season.

I was reading a recent Runner’s World article entitled “Plow through the Season “ which talks about cold weather training tips and strategies. Here is what the author suggests for how to tackle winter running:

1. Move to Mexico. 🙂

2. If that’s not an option, take your track workouts on the road. A.k.a. run for time, not distance.

3. Be flexible. Because winter can bring in some REALLY bad storms you might need to switch around your training each week.

4. “Dress like a Christmas tree.” That is, wear really bright and reflective clothing. Snow banks are high, roads are icy. Oh, and most drivers are careless. So dress really loud so you won’t get run over.

The author also suggests some variations in standard running workouts.

Mile repeats: Find an straight road that doesn’t have a lot of traffic. Then run for the amount of time you would normally run a mile during a 5k or 10k race (for me, that would be around 8:30). Do this 4 or 5 times, resting for about 4-5 minutes in between. The author suggests doing this workout once a week.

Mile breakdown: On a track, this workout would look something like this: 1600, 1200, 800, 400–and you’re picking up the pace with each decrease in distance. For a winter mile breakdown workout, try running hard for 10 minutes, 5 minutes, 3 minutes, 2 minutes, and 1 minute–again, picking up the pace with each decrease in time. Recovery=1 to 1, i.e., run for 5 minutes, recover for 5 minutes, run for 3, recover for 3, etc.

Long runs: I personally love long runs in the winter. SO peaceful. However, I am usually not singing the same tune when it’s -15 degrees outside. The author suggest splitting up your long runs between outside running and treadmill running. For example, you could go run outside for 60-90 minutes, come back inside, change into indoor running clothes, and log in another 60 or so minutes on the treadmill. I don’t know if I could last that long on a treadmill…

There is also an article on Yoga for Runners. I haven’t read it but it looks interesting!

Ok…now I should probably go do some work. 😉

Goodnight! So excited for tomorrow’s return of my fav spin instructor, Joe! I’ll provide the backstory in tomorrow’s bfast post.

About Running the Off Season

I am a runner trying to stay healthy and in shape! I try to live a healthy lifestyle through good food choices, exercise, and fun!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

