A great day for cooking!

Earlier today I started tonight’s dinner: Turkey Chili.

I made chili a while back and it lasted FOREVER. Plus, I was having a few of my cousins over for dinner and I knew this would be a hit. And it was! 🙂

This time I used the crock pot.

Step 1: I browned the turkey and added the taco seasoning. Basically, just followed the instructions on the back of the taco mix packet.

Step 2: Cut up a few carrots and a sweet potato. These were new ingredients to my chili mix.

Step 3: Dump all the canned ingredients into the crock pot.

Step 4: Mix in the browned turkey and spices.

Step 5: Set to high and let sit for 5-6 hours. Full pot, eh?

So here’s the whole mix.

In the mix

1 lb lean ground turkey

1 packet low sodium taco seasoning mix

1 large can crushed tomatoes

1 can tomato sauce

1 can diced tomatoes (I used garlic and basil ones)

2 cans black beans

1 can red beas

1 can chili beans

1/2 tbsp Cumin

1 tbsp Chili powder

1 tbsp Garlic powder

1/2 tbsp Worcestershire sauce

(I did not use the hot pepper or the whole tomatoes even though they are in the above picture)

I picked up some of my FAVORITE cornbread mix at Trader Joe’s. Seriously. Best. mix. ever.

I substituted the oil with applesauce and the muffins were so good! Compared to last time when the cornbread was just ok. This time, amazing! The only problem I’ve found when I substitute applesauce for oil is that a lot of the muffin sticks to the muffin wrapping. Maybe I need to either not use muffin papers or spray the inside with Pam? Any suggestions?

Anyway, dinner was a big hit! I was so happy! My youngest brother was knocked off his feet. He kept on telling me how great the chili was and went back for seconds. That’s the best compliment a cook can get, right? 😉

The cornbread muffins were also a hit. My cousin Paul had two. 🙂

The boys scarfing down the muffins. I made the cornbread muffins kinda late. They got hungry, had some chili, and then about 30 minutes later, had the muffins. Oops.

My plate

And a muffin.

And this is what I’m talking about with the sticking…

Alright, I’m off to get ready for a night out! We are having a 21+ cousins outing to the bar. So excited! 🙂

 

 

 

 

About Running the Off Season

I am a runner trying to stay healthy and in shape! I try to live a healthy lifestyle through good food choices, exercise, and fun!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A great day for cooking!

  1. Pingback: So about that chili… | Running the Off Season

  2. Pingback: BLIZZARD! | Running the Off Season

  3. Pingback: Just keep trucking | Running the Off Season

  4. Pingback: Crock Pot Chicken Chili! | Running the Off Season

Leave a Reply

