About to be in a food coma

I thought I would try to update real quick before we sit down to Thanksgiving dinner…and boy am I excited.

This morning I ran the Drumstick Dash…so.so.so.so.cold.I think it was maybe 9 degrees?

Pre-race fuel: Banana.

I also left for the race WAY later than anticipated. I literally got my packet at 7:56…ran to the race start, attempted to pin on my number and lace in my chip. My hands were so cold! I also didn’t get a chance to drop off my race t-shirt so I had to wear it around my race the whole time! My fault…should have left earlier!!

The route was two laps around Lake Harriet. We started at the Bandshell–the red x.

We ran south around the Lake…which wasn’t that bad. But coming up around the north side was MISERABLE. The wind was so fierce and I was freeeeeezing. Not fun.

It was pretty crowded so my first mile time is a bit off. But my overall time was 57:19. Not great but I’ll take it…it was so icy and snowy out! I felt like I was running in sand. Plus, my mile times decreased with each mile…so that’s good! 🙂

Mile 1: 9:43

Mile 2: 9:20

Mile 3: 9:15

Mile 4: 9:12

Mile 5: 9:05

Mile 6: 8:59

Mile .2: 1:42

Total: 57:19

My goal was to get at least one mile under 9:00. And I did it!

Honestly, I just wanted to finish. It was so freeeeekin’ cold out. Especially during the second half of the loop. Note to self: Wear a neck warmer next year!!

I also tried to snap a few pictures with my iPhone after the race. Ummmm FYI don’t bring your iPhone with you in the freezing cold. I couldn’t get it to turn on after the race and still couldn’t for the rest of the afternoon! I for sure thought it was donzo…but it ended up turning back on around 3:00. I was so nervous my phone was a goner…thank goodness it wasn’t!

So I snapped some pics once I got home. Not the same, but it’ll do.

Race number.

Race t-shirt.

Race chip.

Post-race breakfast: Southwestern style omelet.

In the mix

1/2 cup Egg Beaters

Fire roasted peppers and onions

1/4 cup black beans

2 slices lean turkey bacon

I planned to spend the morning cleaning and getting ready for tonight. An episode of Glee and three episodes of The League later, I figured I should quick run to the grocery store so I could start baking tonight’s dessert. I didn’t have a change to go yesterday and just assumed I could go today because I mean, what grocery store WOULDN’T be open on Thanksgiving?

Ummmmm, apparently none of them. I was SHOCKED. I would assume a grocery store could make a KILLING being open, at least in the morning, on holidays like Thanksgiving and Christmas. But apparently not. I was outta luck. I couldn’t make the Chocolate Pumpkin Loaf I had decided to bring! 😦 Maybe for Christmas?

By the time I got home from running all over Minneapolis I was pretty hungry. We don’t eat Thanksgiving dinner until normal dinner time (6:30 or so) so I needed something to hold me over until then. I decided to get an early start on turkey consumption.

Lunch: Turkey sammie with BBQ kettle chips. I got the DC at CVS.

I’ve just been snacking on some wheat thins…but I’m ready for real dinner!

And I’ve just gotten word that dinner is served! See you soon. 🙂

About Running the Off Season

I am a runner trying to stay healthy and in shape! I try to live a healthy lifestyle through good food choices, exercise, and fun!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to About to be in a food coma

  1. Chelsea @ Strawberry Sweat says:

    Wow, that is awesome that you still got out there and ran that race! I kept putting off signing up for my Turkey Trot (they had race day registration) and then when I woke up this morning and looked at the temp, I totally bailed. Maybe next year it won’t be so cold!

    • Running the Off Season says:

      Ohhhh man, Chelsea! It was brutal out. Well, not during the first part of the loop but def the second part. My bro said this was the coldest Thanksgiving we’ve had in years! Next year we’ll have to run and I also hope it’s not as cold…otherwise we’ll just bundle up! 🙂

  2. Rachel says:

    It was SO cold this morning at the Drumstick Dash! I almost missed the start too and had a slow first mile. Actually, my first three mile splits are pretty identical to yours! I slowed down for the last few after almost falling on the ice a couple of times. The wind coming off of Harriet was no joke either!

    • Running the Off Season says:

      Oh man, we should have run together! I could not BELIEVE how cold it was! and how slippery! I almost slipped a bunch too. I thought it was such a hard race because of all the snow/ice on the ground…felt like I was running in mud!

  3. Pingback: Black Friday–No thank you! | Running the Off Season

  4. Pingback: Laying low | Running the Off Season

  5. Pingback: Happy New Year! | Running the Off Season

  6. Pingback: There’s an app for that. | Running the Off Season

Leave a Reply

