Hey winter, ya did it.

The title of this post was “borrowed” from my good friend and classmate, Ben. He mistakenly used it as BOTH his gchat away message AND Facebook status. I told him he couldn’t use it for both–it’s cliche. Am I right or am I right?

Lunch this afternoon was perfect because this day is cold and wintry.

Chili. 🙂

This is the last of the chili I made back in October. Wow, that sure lasted me a long time!

I decided to spice it up this time by adding tortilla chips. I remember my good friend and old roommate Jen making tortilla strips one time…and I decided to give it a try.

In the mix

1/2 low carb La Tortilla Factory tortilla

Pam

Drizzle of olive oil

The Process

First, I cut the tortilla in half. I then proceeded to cut vertical lines with a pizza cutter. Then I cut horizontal lines with the pizza cutter.

I next sprayed a frying pan with Pam, added the tortilla strips, and drizzled with a little garlic olive oil. They took about 3-4 minutes to brown.

Success! They were pretty crunchy…I think if I let them sit a bit longer they would have been super crunchy.

I LOVE tortilla strips in salads. One of my favorite salads at Panera, the BBQ chicken salad, is chalk full of tortilla strips! However, when checked out the nutritional info I saw that they added 120 calories to the salad! That wasn’t worth it to me. So I usually don’t get the tortilla strips (and never the ranch because I hate ranch dressings). Anyway, since a La Tortilla Factory low carb tortilla is only 80 calories, all these tortilla strips only add about 40 calories to your meal. Sweet.

Chili with the tortilla strips

And some BBQ kettle chips on the side. The bag isn’t empty yet! 🙂

This was a delish in a dish meal and I am very full now. And also very sleepy. If only I could go take a nap…

In other news…

I spy with my little eye….

Something that is white…

and fluffy…

and SUPER CUTE!

Darby! (this last one was taken on my iPhone)

I need to go turn up the heat! I just turned it on today…crazy! Usually I have to turn in on in October…

About Running the Off Season

I am a runner trying to stay healthy and in shape! I try to live a healthy lifestyle through good food choices, exercise, and fun!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

