Crappy ending to a good night

I went out to dinner with the parentals tonight. Food was good, conversation was great. Then we went out to leave and as we were walking up to the car my dad noticed that his window had been smashed in. Work laptop and briefcase gone. 😦 When I asked him what was on the laptop he turned to me and said, “Everything.” My heart broke at that moment. I swear, if my laptop was stolen I would die. Literally die. My entire life is on this guy…maybe I should look into backing it up?

So yea, that sucked. A lot. The police came but I doubt anything will come of this. My car was broken into about a block away last year. That sucked too but all they stole was a pair of sunglasses.

Quick re-cap.

Lunch: Turkey Sammie with hummus and spinach.

The Tom Petter’s panel this afternoon was AWESOME. It was really interesting to hear the lawyers who were involved talk about their experience…how insanely complicated the whole case was. Petters had like 200 businesses that were involved in this Ponzi scheme. I have no idea how (if) he kept up with it all.

My dad came down to school for the event…so it was cool to do that with him. He knew some of the lawyers on the panel and introduced me to them after the presentation. I felt like I was meeting celebrities! I’m such a dork ;).

After the Petters panel I quick ran home to get Darby and had a snack…I was pretty hungry and we wouldn’t be eating for a while. Super crunchy and tart.

We went to The Lexington for dinner. It’s super old school St. Paul and my dad loves it. I apologize for the crappy pictures…just had the iPhone with me tonight. The descriptions of the food are from the menu on the Lexington website.

I got some chili for my app. I only at about half the bowl…wanted to save room for my dinner.

“The Lexington Beans” (Fresh green beans blanched in oil then tossed with minced garlic, crushed red pepper, onion and their famous beans sauce.)

SOOOO good.

Dinner is served! I ordered a dish off the daily specials.

Walleye Almondine (Fresh Walleye breaded and baked to perfection. Topped with toasted almonds and served with tartar sauce) I didn’t really like the beans–they were too buttery. I love butter…but not on veggies or used to cook eggs. So I didn’t eat those.

I have never had real Walleye before and it was good! The breading was perfect–light and not oily at all. It was a little dry; I’m assuming because I didn’t get the tartar.

It came with a baked potato. I had half.

The damage….

My dad wanted me to take a picture of his meal to put on the blog.

He got the Steak Sandwich (An 8 oz. top sirloin grilled and sliced on a bakery fresh bun and served with French fries.)

And then we went outside and realized the car was broken into…:(

But I don’t want to end on such a sour note…SO….I have been thinking about registering for the Drumstick Dash on Thanksgiving morning. It’s a 10k race that runs twice around Lake Harriet. I am going to register tomorrow! Who else wants to spend Thanksgiving morning running 6.2 miles???

About Running the Off Season

I am a runner trying to stay healthy and in shape! I try to live a healthy lifestyle through good food choices, exercise, and fun!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Crappy ending to a good night

  1. Rachel says:

    I’m running the Drumstick Dash. I’ve done it the past 2 years, it’s not a bad race!
    Bummer about your Dad’s car. Seems like Grand ave area would be populated enough that that wouldn’t happen. 😦

    • Running the Off Season says:

      That’s awesome, Rachel! I am excited to run it…I haven’t done many “winter” races (is it even winter yet?) so hopefully it won’t be too cold!

      And I thought the same thing about Grand…there are cars and people EVERYWHERE! So strange.

  2. Kasey says:

    Although I will not be running the Drumstick Dash (love the name!), Scully and I will be doing the Turkey Trot in Dayton!!! Our race is only 5 miles, but I am still nervous about it bc I am not used to running in the cold! I NEVER run outside in Chicago bc I am too wimpy…just treadmills and interval workouts for me : )

Leave a Reply

