And I have the worst schedule in the history of any law student

Business Associations

Federal Tax

Real Estate Transactions

Labor Law

When I called my dad to tell him about my classes I’m pretty sure I could hear him jumping up and down for joy.

But ummmmm don’t I want to work in criminal law? Yes. However, I actually don’t mind three of these classes. Tax is on the bar so I am going to take it eventually. I’ve been told (and also agree with) that every lawyer should have some knowledge of tax and real estate, so that’s where those two classes come in. Also, a good friend of mine’s father teaches labor law AND I’ve heard it’s a really good class…so I am fine with taking that class. I am just really bummed I didn’t get into Trial Ad or Complex Civil Litigation. I am wait-listed for both of those. Also, I have to take BA. Gag.

But you know what can always cheers me up? Starbucks non-fat chai tea latte!

And I really like the saying on the Starbucks cup: “Stories are gifts…Share.” I totally agree. 🙂

Before all of this scheduling crap I had a fantastic workout and breakfast.

Nate’s class was rockin’ and rollin’ per usual. We started out indoors with lots of abs and some resistance band exercises. Then we went outside (53 degrees at 6:10 am? What??) and did LOTS of sprints, horsepulls, and relays. We had a pretty big group today which was awesome. Because it’s so dark out when we are running we’ve been doing most of our outside exercises in the Panera/ PetSmart/Office Max parking lot…right down the street from the gym. Well, the Panera manager came outside this morning and asked us not to run near his store because customers were coming in and complaining about almost hitting us. I’m sorry, tell them to slow down and pay attention. Panera doesn’t own that parking lot.

There’s a bit of a backstory to my animosity for drivers not paying attention. Well, for starters, I was half hit by a car a few days ago. Secondly, I get really annoyed when cars roll through stop signs or are just not being cautious when they are driving in areas that are known for having lots of runners/bikers. My motto is “I’ll take one for the team (i.e., get hit by a car) if it teaches these people to pay attention to runners!”

On a more serious note, one of the main reasons I get so upset at these drivers is because of an incident that occurred when I was coaching cross country two years ago.  The girls and I were out running a very popular running route; we were all in different groups per ability. As the group I was running with ran through a crosswalk, this woman, ON HER CELL PHONE, rolled through the stop sign and thankfully, almost only hit me. I freaked out because the girls were just a few steps in front of me. I yelled at her and told her to watch where she was going…that she almost hit a bunch of middle school and high school girls. She felt bad, but I was really mad. Anyway, that’s why I have zero tolerance for those types of drivers.

After Nate’s class I was home to eat and register. Breakfast was one for a champion.

In the mix

1/2 cup Southwestern style Egg Beaters

1 egg white

Fire roasted peppers and onions

1/4 cup black beans

2 pieces whole wheat toast

Pumpkin butter

I have a booked afternoon of classes and then a presentation at school. I don’t know how many of you heard/read about the Tom Petters scandal…but it was HUGE in MN and I’m pretty sure gained significant national attention. It was kind of in the wake of the Bernie Madoff deal…but the Petter’s scandal was/is pretty similar. Anyway, a bunch of the lawyers that are involved are coming to school to talk about the case. My evidence professor (who is an Assistant United States Attorney) is the moderator. Should be pretty interesting!

Back later this afternoon!

About Running the Off Season

I am a runner trying to stay healthy and in shape! I try to live a healthy lifestyle through good food choices, exercise, and fun!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to And I have the worst schedule in the history of any law student

  1. Chelsea @ Strawberry Sweat says:

    Ick–that definitely doesn’t sound like an exciting semester. Next semester will be my last semester in law school, so I am faced with the question: do I take things that I will need to know for the bar or should I take things that are fun and interesting? I still haven’t taken BA/Corps or Tax, so I don’t know what to do!

    • Running the Off Season says:

      Ugggghhh. I am waitlisted for trial ad/civil litigation…crossing my fingers. I would say take Tax…I’ve heard from a number of lawyers/judges that it’s a really good class to take and it’s on the bar! Is Corporations on the bar? And BA? BA is required by my school…gag.

  2. Pingback: Fight the good fight | Running the Off Season

  3. Pingback: I just gave myself an ulcer. | Running the Off Season

  4. Pingback: Get a little crazy | Running the Off Season

Leave a Reply

