“And it’s a great day to be alive…

I know the sun’s still shinin’ when I close my eyes…”

SUCH a great song. Totally sets the tone for the day. This is another GREAT “get your day started” song. Good Day by Nappy Roots. A special shout out to my friend Megan all the way down in San Antonio! Thanks for that song, gurrrrrl. 😉

So, I am seriously diggin’ this gorg-EOUS fall weather. High of 67 today. Are you kidddddding me??? Why did I order that winter running gear again? Oh yea, because Minnesota likes to play mind games with you and next week it’ll be -43 degrees. You heard it hear first.

Becca and I hit the gym for a fantastic treadmill interval workout. I used my usual interval workout; however, today I bumped it up .3 on every level. So I ran 6.3 instead of 6.0, 7.3 instead of 7.0 and 8.3 instead of 8.0. Great decision! I was def super sweaty by the end…but that’s a sure sign you’ve had a good workout! 😉

I was pretty hungry by the time I got home…and I decided some raspberry pancakes would make the perfect breakfast. And they did.

And I knew I needed to amp up the protein because I wasn’t making eggs.

Enter: THE PROTEIN SHAKE (said in a booming male voice)

I started buying this protein powder per the recommendation of my friend Rob. He’s really into fitness, was a personal trainer for YEARS…so he knows his schtuff. He recommended the “double rich chocolate.” And it’s not bad! I’ve gotten it a couple of times now. I haven’t tried any other flavors but I’m sure there are other good Gold Standard flavors. I get my protein powder from Bodybuilding.com You get a free t-shirt when you order a certain amount! They’re pretty stylish. Ask Rob! 😉

1 scoop has 120 calories and 24 grams of protein! WOW. The other thing that’s great about Gold Standard is that there are only 3g carbs and 1g sugar . The problem you’ll sometimes run into with protein powders is that there are SO many carbs and sugars that drinking it almost defeats the purpose. Not with Gold Standard!

I mix it with water and it tastes fine. It’s not “delish in a dish” by any means…but it’s the best tasting protein powder I’ve tried!

I snapped these pictures on my iPhone when I took out Darby this morning….see what I mean? So nice out!!!

Lovely downtown Minneapolis. Love this city.

Alright, I’m off to practice my oral argument! Have a GREAT morning!

About Running the Off Season

I am a runner trying to stay healthy and in shape! I try to live a healthy lifestyle through good food choices, exercise, and fun!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “And it’s a great day to be alive…

  1. Chelsea @ Strawberry Sweat says:

    I’m not sure this Minnesota weather is fall! I was totally expecting it to snow before Thanksgiving, but it doesn’t look like it will with the weather we are having. Just wait, it won’t snow at all and then we’ll have a huge snowstorm around Christmas Day…oh wait, that happened last year 🙂

    Breakfast looks delicious! I’ll have to check out that Nappy Roots song. My good day song is “Good Day” by Luce. Check it out 🙂

    • Running the Off Season says:

      Love the Luce song!! I just dl-ed it! Thanks for the suggestion. And can you believe this weather…I mean, I wore a sleeveless dress to work today!!! It’s November!

  2. Pingback: Would you like a corn muffin with that? | Running the Off Season

  3. Pingback: Patio season | Running the Off Season

Leave a Reply

