I almost ate raw chicken for dinner

But I didn’t. Close call though! I went to take out my crock pot chicken and noticed it was still preeeeeetttyyyy pink. I decided to forgo salmonella and  put the chicken back in the crock pot to cook a little longer.

Backup plan: Roasted veggies and whole wheat pasta! I am running my longest run since the marathon tomorrow. Becca, Kerry and I are doing 6 miles at 6 with the Trail Mixx group. I’ve run a couple 5 milers since Chicago but nothing more. I am not nervous at all about the distance…I’m actually pretty excited! Anyway, I wanted to make sure I got some carbs in so I have a good run tomorrow morning!

In the mix

1 cup whole wheat pasta

Roasted veggies (peppers, onions, broccoli)

1/2 cup black beans

1/2 cup Trader Joe’s marinara sauce

Pasta….

Roasted veggies…

Sauce!

I was really craving something sweet post dinner but I didn’t have anything that looked like it could satisfy my sweet tooth.

I was also too lazy/ scared to go walk over to CVS to grab a treat. The area behind my building can get a littttllleee sketchy at night. Not so much were I feel unsafe…but I do sometimes feel uncomfortable. For example, one night this summer I had to run over to CVS to grab something (don’t remember what). I usually kill two birds with one stone and take out Darby for a potty break and then hide him in a large shoulder bag I have and sneak him into CVS to grab whatever I need. P.S. the bag is HUGE so he’s not smothered or anything. See! So cute.

Here’s another cute pic I found…just throwing it in for good measure. 🙂

(And yes, I still have sheets like the ones I had in college. COLLEGE!)

Anywayyyyyyy

Well, one night this kinda creepy guy noticed me put Darby in my bag and came over to try to talk to me before I went into CVS. I was uncomfortable and tried to walk away once I got inside the store. But the guy was trying to pet Darby inside the bag and totally blew my spot. The lady noticed I had a dog and told me I couldn’t come in with him. I told her all I wanted to do was grab one thing; however, she wasn’t having it. Meanwhile the creepy guy would not leave me alone (I actually think he was drunk or something) and then the lady says, “Hey, is this guy with you?” And I must have looked terribly uncomfortable/scared when I looked at her and shook my head because she let me buy my stuff and told the guy to leave me alone. He got all bent out of shape and says, “First you say she can’t come in with the dog but then once you find out she’s not with me you let her stay!? That’s crazy!” And we just ignored him and then I ran like Steve Prefontaine across the street and back to my place. So, needless to say, I don’t really like venturing out to CVS alone, in the dark, past 8:30 or so.

Thus, my sweet tooth remains unsatisfied this evening. But there’s always tomorrow. 😉

GooooooooooooodNIGHT!

About Running the Off Season

I am a runner trying to stay healthy and in shape! I try to live a healthy lifestyle through good food choices, exercise, and fun!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I almost ate raw chicken for dinner

  1. Pingback: New winter running gear | Running the Off Season

Leave a Reply

