Failure in the kitchen

So my attempt at creating a new dinner tonight blew up IN MY FACE. Not literally, but dinner did not go well.

First, snack.

The Honeycrisp was delicious but I wasn’t really feeling the apple and only ate about half. My hunger caught up with me later…my remedy: Starbucks. 🙂

I indulged and got a Starbucks cookie with my non-fat chai tea latte. I didn’t actually take this picture but this is exactly what my cookie looked like. And it was so so so good and totally made my afternoon of studying and class worth it.

After I got home from class I did a little bit of work and then started dinner. I was actually pretty hungry when I started to prep and I knew it was going to take me a while, so to quell my hunger I tried the Trader Joe’s Pumpkin Butter on a piece of light wheat toast.

I liked it…it was kind of like a spicy/cinnamon jam. Not too sweet.

And then dinner happened. Sort of.

I attempted to make a fajita pizza…dinner last night was so good and I was craving fajitas again so I tried to be creative. And I fell flat on my face.

So I used salsa as the sauce. A lot. Seemed like a good idea at the time. Salsa is kinda like tomato sauce, right? Wrong. Salsa is SUPER watery and well, ya, you can imagine what happened to my crust.

It got soggy. Like SUPER soggy. Like it’s not pizza anymore it’s I don’t even know…soggy pizza? Please note the crust. SOGGY.

The majority of the pizza was veggies. I had some peppers, onions, black beans, and the too much salsa. I also used some fajita crock pot chicken. I ended up eating most of this with a fork and didn’t really eat much of flat bread because it was so soggy.

I. am. stuffed.

And I’m outtie 5000.

About Running the Off Season

I am a runner trying to stay healthy and in shape! I try to live a healthy lifestyle through good food choices, exercise, and fun!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

