Don’t forget to vote!

There, I said it. Now you, go do it!

I woke up today and could.not.walk. Thanks, Kadi! I met Becca at 6:10 this morning for an invigorating treadmill workout. And like usual, it was AWESOME! Seriously, I have this new found love for running. My heart wavered for a bit but training for and running Chicago reignited my passion for running!!

The only snafu in my workout this morning was the bloody nose I got during our last 8.0 sprint. I had to make a quick run to the bathroom and probably looked like a weirdo running through the gym with a giant towel stuck to my face but I took care of things and made it back to finish up the workout! I ain’t no quitter. đŸ˜‰

Oh, and we also did a 5 minute cool down which was aaaamazing!

I sure worked up an appetite and made some delish raspberry Fiber One pancakes (still can’t get over that 3 of these = 180 calories) and some eggs (1/2 cup egg beaters).

So I have mentioned my troubles with eating pre-workout. Sometimes I feel great! Other times my stomach is killing me throughout the whole workout. I was reading a Runner’s World article this morning that approached this subject. “The goal is to time your meals so you’re able to maintain a steady blood-sugar level throughout your workout.” Yea, obviously! The article suggested that if you want to eat pre-workout you should try eating a combo of protein and carbs an hour to four hours before your workout. Makes sense, but I am not getting up at 4:30 (or earlier!) to eat. However, apparently it’s not as vital to eat if you’re working out 60 minutes or less.

But the problem is that I wake up some mornings hungry. I have noticed though that the less time I give myself to get ready for my workout the less time to think about being hungry. For example, this morning I woke up a little hungry but I was running late and rushing so I didn’t think about being hungry and by the time I got to the gym and drank some water I was fine, had a great workout, and ate right when I got home. I was only doing a 45 min workout so I was all good. I felt great during the workout and not light-headed or anything. Next time I wake up a bit hungry I might try to eat a few grapes or apple slices to hold me over until after my run/workout.

With that, I’m off to work on my brief (took the day off work to hammer this guy out) and vote! Have a great morning!

About Running the Off Season

I am a runner trying to stay healthy and in shape! I try to live a healthy lifestyle through good food choices, exercise, and fun!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Don’t forget to vote!

  1. Pingback: Online school for kindergarteners? | Running the Off Season

Leave a Reply

