Getting back on the wagon

Do you have a routine? I definitely do. And when that routine gets disrupted, I’m all outta sorts. My routine got thrown off this weekend but I’m back on the wagon and feeling MUCH better!

I had planned to take Friday off because of the Halloween party Thursday night. However, I somehow need to figure out that even though I don’t work out I can still eat healthy and make healthy choices. That was my Friday for ya. I felt terrible all morning because I was tired and didn’t eat breakfast. I ate lunch late and felt crappy after that too. The hole got deeper Friday night when I ate mostly sweets for dinner.

I felt gross Saturday morning when I woke up. I didn’t eat that much for breakfast and was starving come lunch. I made better choices for lunch and dinner but I didn’t document or blog because I was too tired. I also didn’t workout on Saturday either. I tried to go to bed at a normal hour last night so that today I could feel refreshed and get back into my routine of eating mostly healthy and working out.

I set my alarm for 7:00 am but was still SO tired! I didn’t get out of bed till 9:00 and started doing school work right away. I planned to head over to my parents around 10:30 to do work and pass out Halloween candy later. Because I had such a late start to my morning I planned to run this afternoon. So I made breakfast and sat down to do some work.

Raspberry Fiber One pancakes + green grapes

I made these last week and once again they did not cease to disappoint. I absolutely LOVE the taste of raspberries in pancakes! So much better than the blueberry pancakes I usually make.

And some delicious crunchy green grapes. I totally prefer green grapes over purple/red grapes.

When it was time for me to head over to Stp I purposely wore my running stuff. I was going to get a run in today if it killed me! I told myself I’d run by 1:00 pm. When 1:00 got here, I made myself get up, get my Garmin all ready and go!

And wow, am I ever glad I did that. I felt really good throughout the whole run…it was a little chilly/windy but sunny! I can handle the wind and chill as long as there’s some sun. The first half of the run was awesome. I made it to the 2.5 turnaround spot in 22:36. The run back was a little harder because I had the Summit Ave. hills and the wind slowing me down. I finished my 5 miles in 44:35. My average pace was 8:55…not bad!

After my run I took Darby for a little walk around the neighborhood. It is so nice out today! I snapped a few pics of the b-e-a-utiful fall weather.

Hello, Darby!

Love this pic…you can really see the changing colors of the leaves on the tree!

I need to go make some lunch! I see a turkey sandwich with some honey mustard in my near future ;).

P.S. I am super excited to pass out the Halloween candy tonight! I am going to be Jared Allen of the Minnesota Vikings. I have his jersey and I am going to wear eye-black under my eyes. Unfortunately I do not have facial hair of a mullet. I do have some cowboy boots though! 🙂

Sidenote: I didn’t think my Risky Business costume would go over well with all the parents and kids. And I absolutely l.o.v.e. Jared Allen–he is my favorite Viking!

About Running the Off Season

I am a runner trying to stay healthy and in shape! I try to live a healthy lifestyle through good food choices, exercise, and fun!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

