My eyes were bigger than my stomach.

My grandma used to say this to me all the time when I was little. I would grab a HUGE bowl of Rice Krispy Treats cereal (see below) and I wouldn’t be able to finish it…or I’d eat too much and feel sick.

p.s. how awesome was/is this cereal?? It’s not even cereal…it’s like candy!

Anyway, I woke up this morning and was hungry so I decided to have a pre-workout meal–I knew I would be busting my butt at Nate’s class and I needed some fuel!

Banana-Justin’s Sammie

I toasted a sandwich thin, used half a package of Justin’s and cut up a small banana. And it was good. So so so good.

I didn’t start to feel ill until we started sprinting…and continued sprinting…throughout most of class. Killers, relays, horsepulls…Nate did not give us a break! I felt like I was going to ralph the entire time. 😦 Lesson learned. Never have this breakfast before a workout!

For races I usually eat something simple like oatmeal or a banana. Pre-Chicago I had a bagel with some almond butter, no banana though. I don’t know if it was because I ate super fast this morning or it was the combo of the banana and almond butter…but it did NOT sit well.

Lesson being: Make sure to test out your pre-race/workout meals…you’ll then learn what your body can or can’t handle!

I came home, did some stuff around my place, and had a lighter post-workout meal of fruit and Greek yogurt.

In the mix

Strawberries

Blueberries

Grapes

Raspberries

1/2 tbsp chia seeds

1/2 cup fiber one

1/2 cup TJ’s Greek Yogurt

Pre-yogurt

Post-yogurt

And a little coffee to put that pep in my step. Splash of skim milk I got at the gas station this morning…if I don’t blog at lunch it means I didn’t make it. 😉

In other news

It’s supposed to be in the high 60’s today! High 60’s? In October??? Yes, that is correct.

So get outside and play today! I think our Indian summer might be over starting tomorrow…

 

 

About Running the Off Season

I am a runner trying to stay healthy and in shape! I try to live a healthy lifestyle through good food choices, exercise, and fun!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My eyes were bigger than my stomach.

  1. Pingback: Got a nice little Saturday planned… | Running the Off Season

  2. Pingback: Don’t forget to vote! | Running the Off Season

Leave a Reply

