I’ve taken up a new hobby

I’ve taken up a new hobby. It’s called napping. The last couple of days I have taken 2+ hour naps. I mean, I’m on break, I’m not really doing anything, why am I so tired?? Maybe this is just another way to avoid writing my appellate brief?

Dinner tonight was so-so. I wasn’t in love with the dish…did I eat it? Yes, I was hungry. However, I don’t see myself making it again anytime soon. I got this recipe from a Weight Watcher’s email. I modified it for one person.

In the mix

Crock pot chicken

Steamed broccoli

1/2 cup cooked brown rice

1/2 tbsp low sodium teriyaki sauce

1 garlic clove, minced

1 tbsp low sodium chicken broth

1 medium scallion, finely chopped

The Process

I minced the garlic and added it to the saucepan–I let it simmer for a bit before I added the chicken, chopped scallion, chicken broth, and teriyaki sauce.

In the meantime I steamed some broccoli. I used my handy-dandy steamer. I put some water in the bottom and steamed in the microwave on high for 1 minute.

When the broccoli was steamed I added it to the chicken.

And then I added this mixture to the cooked brown rice (1/2 cup).

The chicken was a little dry…the WW recipe doesn’t call for pre-cooked chicken. Maybe that was my problem?

Dessert made up for my so-so dinner. If you couldn’t tell from my breakfast post this morning, I am newly OBSESSED with Fiber One’s original pancake mix. So I decided to create a dessert dish using it!

I cut down the mixture from 1/2 cup to 1/4 cup because I didn’t need three whole pancakes for dessert! As much as I would have liked to, I didn’t. 😉

I added 1 tbsp of mini chocolate chips and a pinch of walnut pieces and went to town. When my dessert pancake was done cooking I cut up some fresh strawberries and added a little powdered sugar. Heaven.

I’ll be dreaming of this all night.

About Running the Off Season

I am a runner trying to stay healthy and in shape! I try to live a healthy lifestyle through good food choices, exercise, and fun!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’ve taken up a new hobby

  1. meghan says:

    Use half the recommended amount of fiber one mix and half peanut flour, add a little more egg beaters then the recipe calls for.
    best.pancakes.ever.
    Also, how do you not DVR real housewives of beverly hills?

    • Running the Off Season says:

      ummmm when did The Real Housewives of Beverly Hills start?! I didn’t even know that show existed! I hated D.C. so I stopped even looking…added to the the list!

Leave a Reply

