Newsflash! I’m a grandma.

Because I went to bed at 7:00 pm last night. Yep, you read correctly, 7:00 pm. I didn’t sleep well Monday night and I honestly think I got 3-4 hours of sleep…thus, after work yesterday I crashed. I woke up at 11:30, took out Darby, and went back to bed until 5:20 this morning! Even though I could have definitely slept later, I still felt awesome when I woke up…super rested.

I met Becca at 5:45am for Nate’s Trail Mixx (yes, two x’s) class at the gym. We started out with core stuff from 5:45-6:00, did some body bar exercises until about 6:07 and then hit the road!

The first part of our run consisted of an easy jog over to the West End parking ramp which is right down the street from the gym. We did horsepulls (wrap two resistant bands around your waist and have your partner hold them standing behind you) and ran Easy for 10 seconds, medium for 10 seconds, hard for 10 seconds (x2) while running up the parking ramp. Then easy for 10, hard for 10 (x4) and then we switched at the top of the ramp. We also did a series of sprints down the parking ramp then up and relays on one of the top levels. Then we headed over to the Petsmart parking lot and did squat jumps with partners and the resistant bands and one more relay around the entire perimeter of the parking lot.

Whewwwww! Tough workout.

I said I was feeling uninspired by breakfast the other day so I decided to scour the internet for some breakfast recipe inspirations. It was pretty chilly this morning so I knew I wanted something warm…and that brought me to oatmeal! I improvised a recipe from Kath. Say hello to Oatmeal a la Kathryn.

In the mix:

1/3 cup old fashioned oats

1/3 cup skim milk

1/3 cup water

1 small banana (1/2 sliced into oatmeal, 1/2 sliced on top)

1 tsp mini chocolate chips

1/2 packet Justin’s Almond Butter

Pinch of slivered almonds

The Process

I started by following Kath’s recipe for Whipped Banana Oatmeal. I combined the oats, milk, and water in the saucepan and then cut up half of the banana SUPER thin. As the oats started to heat up (i.e., bubble/steam) I whipped the banana into the oats (sorta mashed it too). I did this every so often for about 5 minutes…that’s when the oatmeal looked good to me!

Then I put the oatmeal in a bowl and added the mini chocolate chips, slivered almonds, and Justin’s.

Then I mixed it all together and added the rest of the banana!

I dig this breakfast. 🙂

Quick recap from yesterday. I had about 5 minutes to eat lunch because I was due in court at 1:30 and needed to be at the courthouse at 1:00 and I didn’t leave work until 12:30. So I quickly reheated a turkey burger, threw it on a bagel thin, added some spinach, ketchup and mustard, and gobbled it up.

Applesauce for dessert.

I got home from work and was pretty hungry…afternoon snack= Whole wheat bread + Peanut(flour) butter + small banana.

Dinner was simple: BBQ chicken pizza. I made this a few weeks ago and loved it…

Dessert was two of the muffins I made yesterday…I couldn’t stop at just one!

In other news…

Darby has taken a liking to hiding in between the pillows on my bed. He kinda blends in 🙂

About Running the Off Season

I am a runner trying to stay healthy and in shape! I try to live a healthy lifestyle through good food choices, exercise, and fun!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

