AUSTIN HALF-MARATHON!

That’s right! I just signed up for the Austin Half Marathon!!! And that’s not even the best part! I am running with two of my besties, Kasey and Megan!! Megan is currently in Texas teaching and Kasey (Chicago hostess with the mostess and Megan’s future sister-in-law) and I will be meeting Megan in Austin over President’s Day weekend to run run run! I don’t think I’ve stopped smiling since I registered! ๐Ÿ™‚

We’ve also got our hotel booked and I just booked my flight! I am also PUMPED to hang out in Austin (I have spent about 15 hours total in that city and may have spent most of those 15 hours drinking heavily and then sleeping it off). Needless to say, I am pretty stoked about spending some proper time exploring (and running) in a very neat city.

Oh! And I also have some ACE friends that are living and teaching in Austin. This trip is a total win!

I will be creating my half-marathon training schedule in the next couple of weeks. I will likely use Hal Higdon’s Intermediate Training Plan which incorporates some speed work into the workouts. I really want to try to get an under 2:00 time. My best (out of two races) half marathon time was 1:45 in the Baton Rouge Half Marathon. Not only was my friend Nathan (aka Speed Demon) pacing me, but I had also trained all fall with the SMHS CC team (miss you guys!). I guess a realistic goal time for me would be 1:50-1:53. I ran the Minneapolis 13.1 this past August in 155:31 but I was dyyyyyying the whole time. I ran with my friend Katherine (also a Chicago 2010 finisher!) and she was ridic fast. But I’m still hoping I can shave off a little time in Austin. However, my #1 goal is to HAVE FUN with Kasey and Megan!!!

Moving on to dinner…Pasta! ๐Ÿ™‚

In the mix:

1/2 cup of these bad boys…

Some of my fav Trader Joe’s fire roasted peppers and onions…

1 Chile Lime Chicken Burger

Pasta Sauce….

The Process

After I cooked the pasta and grilled the chicken burger….

I cut up the chicken burger

Mixed the veggies with the pasta…

Added the chicken burger…

And topped it off with the sauce!

So so so good. I am eating a fair amount of carbs tonight because I’m doing a pretty intense 45 minute interval workout tomorrow. Here’s what I have planned:

I kinds of modified an interval workout I found online. Hopefully I’ll be able to do this! I hate running on treadmills….

Goodnight!

About Running the Off Season

I am a runner trying to stay healthy and in shape! I try to live a healthy lifestyle through good food choices, exercise, and fun!
This entry was posted in Races, Workout and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to AUSTIN HALF-MARATHON!

  1. Kaseface says:

    can you do me a favor and shoot me the stats for the chile lime chicken burger? It looks quite interesting, but I want to know how many calories and fat before I head to trader joes to get it! gracias!!!!!

  2. Pingback: And the training begins! | Running the Off Season

  3. Pingback: Early start to my day! | Running the Off Season

  4. Pingback: BLIZZARD! | Running the Off Season

  5. Pingback: Laying low | Running the Off Season

  6. Pingback: My internet is back and working! | Running the Off Season

  7. Pingback: My life in bullet points | Running the Off Season

  8. Pingback: Keeping warm… | Running the Off Season

  9. Pingback: Week 8 | Running the Off Season

Leave a Reply

