I love fall!

Boy, do I ever love fall. Seriously. It is so gorgeous out today! The air is crisp and the sun is shining.

I just had to take advantage…and bake something fall-esque!

First, I tackled lunch. I was inspired by a Weight Watcher’s recipe for hamburgers. But I’m not a huge beef person so I used turkey instead. I used the grill because then I could spend some time outside!

In the mix

Lean ground turkey

Garlic

Pepper

Salt

The Process

First, I mixed in the minced garlic, salt, and pepper.

I grilled outside. 🙂

Gorgeous day, huh?

I grilled up some onions too…

I loaded my turkey burger with spinach and grilled onions.

And sweet potato fries. Yum. 🙂

And because fall is in the air…spice cake muffins!

I substituted applesauce for oil (1:1 ratio) and egg substitute for the eggs.

In the first batch I just added walnuts to the mix.

In the next batch I added mini chocolate chips. Great decision.

And of course, I had to try one. Nice little afternoon snack.

If I did the math right (and I might not have because I suck at math) without the added walnuts and chocolate chips these muffins are about 86 calories per muffin! Compare that to the 120 calories per muffin when they are made with oil and real eggs. There is also less fat too. Basically what I did to figure it out was I took the nutritional value of 1 muffin with just dry mix (80 calories) + 90 calories/24 (3/4 cup egg beaters divided by 24 muffins) + 50 calories/24 (50 calories in 1/2 cup applesauce…even though I only used 1/3 cup)= +/- 86 calories! Not bad! Add in a bit more for the walnut pieces and mini chocolate chips…but that’s not a ton because I only used about 2-3 tablespoons of each. I’m impressed!

I’m going to go take Darby for a walk and enjoy some more of this great weather! I love fall break!

About Running the Off Season

I am a runner trying to stay healthy and in shape! I try to live a healthy lifestyle through good food choices, exercise, and fun!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

