Perverse Techno Remix

One of my fondest childhood memories is rockin’ out to the Steve Miller Band. My favorite song was definitely Swingtown…particularly the intro to the song:

Ooo oooohhhh
Ooo oooohhhh
Come on and dance, come on and dance
Let’s make some romance
You know the night is fallin’
And the music’s callin’
And we’ve got to get down to Swingtown

So yea, me and my bad 6 year-old self used to belt that song while playing the air guitar in my parents’ living room. Yea, I was a pretty cool kid. 😉

ANYWAY…during spin this morning my spin instructor (who loves techno, gag) played a techno remix of Swingtown! I just about fell off my bike. Does that mean I’m getting old?

And we’re moving on….

I was studying last night with my friend, Eric, so I didn’t have a chance to update. Well, I should say, I was studying. Eric spent the first 30 or so minutes of our study sesh researching the world’s largest pumpkin. I’ll admit it, I was impressed to learn that the biggest pumpkin was around 1,800 pounds. WOW.

Before I went to the library to study, I tried a new recipe for dinner: Vegetable Fried Rice. I used egg beaters instead of eggs and brown rice instead of white rice. It was pretty good; however, when I think about the leftovers I have in my fridge I’m not excited about eating them for lunch or dinner. Hmmmm….

But first, my afternoon snack…I was pretty hungry by the time Family Law started at 3!

We are pretty limited on healthy snack options in the vending machines at school…but pretzels were a great choice! Now on to dinner…

In the mix

Cooked brown rice (I used 1 bag of Trader Joe’s organic brown rice)

Fresh or frozen veggies (I used Trader Joe’s fire roasted peppers and onions, corn, and fresh broccoli)

1 small onion, finely cut

3 tablespoons low sodium soy sauce (I used 2)

The Process

First I mixed the raw onions and the brown rice and cooked them on high for about 5 minutes.

Then I added the veggies and cooked for another 5-6 minutes.

Then I separated the mixture and added the Egg Beaters. I used Southwestern style Egg Beaters…I thought it would go nicely with the peppers and onions. Eh, it was ok. I would probably use regular Egg Beaters or egg whites next time.

After the eggs were scrambled, I added the low sodium soy sauce.

I added the leftover shredded crock pot chicken to my own bowl…needed to add some protein!

I had some applesauce with cinnamon for dessert

I also got my cookie fix 🙂 I purchased a little bag of cookies from the WLSA (Women’s Law Student Association….). WLSA is doing a bake sale at school to raise money for breast cancer research. They also have these cute little koozies that say, “Save Second Base.”

I was up late studying so I had a little snack to power me through Evidence. It did the trick!

I also got one of these bad boys…

I have a really stuffy nose and can’t breath and I had heard really good things about the Neti Pot. I was def impressed but the whole process is super gross…but hey, I’ll take snot dribbling out of my nose if it means I can smell/taste/breathe!!

Now that I’m all caught up…

I tried one of those new oatmeal deals I bought a few weeks ago…

What’s kinda neat is that you can use the package to measure the water you add to the mix! These would be perfect to keep at work…prevents soggy oatmeal!

This flavor was Cinnamon Roll…it was a little too sweet for me but still pretty good.

These are 100 calorie packs…not nearly enough for a post-workout breakfast. So I also made a strawberry-plain Greek yogurt parfait.

In the Mix

Strawberries

1/2 cup plain Greek Yogurt

Fiber 1

1/2 tablespoon Chia seeds

I have a full day of studying Evidence ahead of me. 😦 4:30 pm is game time!

About Running the Off Season

I am a runner trying to stay healthy and in shape! I try to live a healthy lifestyle through good food choices, exercise, and fun!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Perverse Techno Remix

  1. Pingback: Winter, get over yourself. | Running the Off Season

Leave a Reply

