Fact: I’m wearing flats for at least a week.

“That’s right, your Honor, I am wearing tennis shoes in your courtroom. Why? Well, I just ran the CHICAGO MARATHON and there’s no way I’m wearing heels.”

That didn’t really happen but that’s what I would say if I get any crap for wearing tennis shoes/flats this week. I actually have a nice pair of flats to wear to work so I probably won’t wear tennis shoes…but if I did, that’s what I would say.

It’s day #2 after the marathon and I’m still a wee bit sore. I attempted to swim this morning but I forgot to put my swim cap and goggles back in my bag post marathon. Thus, I couldn’t go swimming so I went to spin instead. It was definitely a  painful but I’m feeling GREAT this morning. My legs are much looser.

Post Marathon Stretching is so important. After the race I was waiting around for my friends Kasey and John (they got stuck at Mile 23). So I decided to do my stretching while I waited. I did lots of quad stretching and walking around my little area by Buckingham Fountain. I may have looked a bit silly but it helped so so so much. I know it’s like the last thing anyone wants to do post-race but just do it! I really wanted to sit down but I knew if I didn’t stretch I wouldn’t be able to get up once I did sit down.

I’m so glad to be back in my own kitchen. I made a really great breakfast this morning…it was similar to my favorite dish at French Meadow Bakery. Quick plug: This place is AWESOME. All you folks in the Twin Cities must check it out. Their menu is entirely organic and they have great outdoor seating. I love it for breakfast but they have wonderful lunch and dinner dishes as well. Annnnyyway, I made my own version of their Breakfast Burrito.

In the Mix

1/2 cup Southwestern Egg Beaters

1 egg white

1/4 cup black beans

Fire roasted peppers and onions (Trader Joe’s)

1 Whole Grain Flatout

The Process

I made a regular omelet with all my ingredients. Then I took the omelet out of the pan, put it on half the Flatout, folded over the Flatout, and then grilled each side of the Flatout. I was also inspired by my Chicken Non-Quesadilla that I made for lunch last week. Breakfast was a success!!

I sprayed Pam on the pan to prevent sticking.

This breakfast was a littlleeeeee bit messy…but I bet it would stay together better if you used cheese. But we all know cheese was not making it into this dish. 🙂 Melted cheese is by far the worst. Melted cheese on pizza is what started it all. I remember the day vividly. 5th grade, Friday during Lent, cheese pizza with my brothers for dinner. I just couldn’t eat it anymore. I don’t know what changed, but I have avoided cheese like the plague since! (minus cheese goldfish, weird, I know).

I also had a nice cup of coffee. I used my Wild mug because the Twins are done, I am losing faith in the Vikings, I’m not even going to mention the T-Wolves…let’s go WILD!

In other news…

I think Fall passed over the Midwest this year…I mean, I’m not going to complain (minus Sunday’s heat)…but I kinda miss sweater weather!

It was cool and crisp when I took out Darby this morning…lots of traffic heading into downtown.

Darby was enjoying the weather…sniffing around the dog park.

All you dog owners out there…GREATEST LEASH EVER! It has the little baggies attached to the handle…so convenient. That little sticker is just from the baggies. I stuck it on there when I put in a new roll the other day.

Well, it’s back to the grind. I am excited to try a new recipe tonight…taco salad using a Flatout as a the shell and fajita chicken!! Happy Tuesday!

P.S. My friend Kerry sent this post my way…Emily @ The Front Burner compared all the different powdered peanut butters. I’m glad she thought Trader Joe’s was such a hit too!

About Running the Off Season

I am a runner trying to stay healthy and in shape! I try to live a healthy lifestyle through good food choices, exercise, and fun!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fact: I’m wearing flats for at least a week.

  1. Congrats on finishing the marathon! My first one is this Sunday. Hopefully I recover as quickly as you did! By the way, I used to order French Meadow sprouted bread, but they discontinued their online shopping (it was much cheaper ordering directly through them than buying $6 loaves at the store). I’m having French Meadow bread withdrawal…

    • Running the Off Season says:

      What race are you doing Sunday? You’ll do GREAT! Just make sure to stretch stretch stretch after…and move around in the following days. At work I get up about every 15 minutes or so and walk around…just to ease the stiffness in my legs.

      That stinks about the online ordering! I’m a big fan of Ezekiel 4:9 Bread…have you tried that? It’s a lot cheaper than $6 a loaf! I love it cause it’s crunchy…great with almond butter and sliced banana.

Leave a Reply

