It’s getting hot in here…

OMG was it HOT today. They increased the alert level to red after I finished! It was about 82 today…gross.

I had a bagel with Justin’s almond butter for breakfast. And throughout the race I had Cliff’s shot blocks and Gatorade. Post race I ate a banana–so important to refuel with something right after the race! They had tons of food around the finish (bagels, pretzels, cookies, etc) but I couldn’t think about any of that right after the race. All I wanted to do was sit down.

The first 15 miles were great. My brother Michael and I were rocking a good pace to finish at a little under four hours. I ran with Michael until about mile 17 or 18….but he was too fast for me! πŸ™‚ He finished at 3:59…I finished at 4:07…seven minutes past my goal time. But hey! I’ll take that because it was so darn hot out.

Minus the heat, the race was AWESOME. There were crowds at every inch of the race. I saw my friends Becca and Peter around mile 9 (?) and Larissa shortly there after. I saw Kaitlin and Claire at mile 25…that was awesome…and they even had a sign for me! πŸ™‚ Unfortunately, Kasey didn’t get the text message updates for my times so I didn’t get to see her until after the race…but when I did it was awesome!

Kasey took some pics for me during the race…thanks girl!

Finished!

Reunited!

Post marathon grub. Hamburger with pickles, onions and lettuce+ sweet potato friends+vanilla milk shake. I was gonna eat whatever I wanted! πŸ™‚

I’ve got an early flight so I’m hitting the hay. Kasey fixed my sign tonight. πŸ™‚

Back to reality tomorrow….oh, and Kasey, my friend Megan and I have decided to run the Austin Rock’n’roll half in February! Wooooo! πŸ™‚

About Running the Off Season

I am a runner trying to stay healthy and in shape! I try to live a healthy lifestyle through good food choices, exercise, and fun!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to It’s getting hot in here…

  1. Keri says:

    Yeeeeeaaaahhh Shorty!!! That is SO pimp! You rock!

  2. Pingback: Streeeeetch

  3. therunningdiva84 says:

    Awesome marathon time!

  4. SkinnyRunner says:

    congratulations on the marathon! and having a sweet lunch afterwards. fries, so tasty in my mouth.

  5. where did you get that food?? it looks amazing!! Congrats on the marathon!

    • Running the Off Season says:

      thanks!! I went to J.Wellington’s post race–it’s in Bucktown and so so so delicious. You must go!

  6. Congrats!! Way to go πŸ™‚ You don’t look a bit tired in your after-the-marathon pictures- you rock!

    • Running the Off Season says:

      Thanks! Once I was done I was like, THANK GOODNESS THAT’S OVER! And I was in such a good mood to see my friends!!!

  7. Kaitlin says:

    I am SO proud of you! I had a blast cheering for you and you have definitely inspired me to think about doing one.. πŸ™‚

  8. Pingback: Don’t forget to vote! | Running the Off Season

  9. Pingback: I almost ate raw chicken for dinner | Running the Off Season

  10. Pingback: Busy busy morning! | Running the Off Season

  11. Pingback: Austin: The food post! | Running the Off Season

  12. Pingback: The running shoe post | Running the Off Season

Leave a Reply

