Marathon…tomorrow?!!

Sorry for the lack of updates yesterday…it was busy busy busy once I got into Chi-town! Also, I apologize for the lack of pictures…

I am staying with one of my besties, Kasey. We met at Notre Dame (ACE program) and she lives here in the city and was kind enough to let me crash for the weekend πŸ™‚ Thanks, girl!

Kasey and I woke up early this morning and hit the Bucktown streets for a 2 mile jog. B-e-a-utiful morning. Little warm, but great run!

We came back and cooked up a southwestern scramble. Delicious.

Kasey’s plate

John’s plate

We then hit to road to check out the Marathon Expo!!!Β  We got to McCormick Place and parked…$19 later we made it in!

I got my number and bag

We toured around the expo…I got some Marathon apparel (photos later) and met up with my friends that are running the marathon as well.

After the expo I met up with my good friend, Kaitlyn. We studied abroad together in Galway. Her bf is running tomorrow. I am trying to get Kaitlyn to run Dublin with me next year. πŸ™‚

Kaitlyn came with me to get lunch at a little bakery. We then went and met up with Meghann from Meals and Miles at Yogen Fruz. Delicious! There were about 10 of us that met up…some running, some not. It was nice to just sit and chat with these girls! πŸ™‚

I then went over to my friend Scully’s (Kasey’s fiance) to watch the end of the Notre Dame game. They won, barely. After Scully’s we went back to Kasey’s to make the PRE-RACE DINNER!!!

On the menu

Whole wheat pasta with sauce

Shredded crock pot chicken

Whole wheat ciabatta bread

Salad (which we forgot to make)

Pumpkin spice cake (Trader Joe’s mix)

The Process

We started with the pumpkin spice bread because that would need to cook the longest. I substituted applesauce for oil and…..BEST. DECISION. EVER. (You’ll see below).

After my brother, Michael (also running the race), got to Kasey’s, we started the pasta, etc.

Done pumpkin cake in the background…yum.

Crock pot shredded chicken…great addition.

Michael and Scully helping me and Kasey make dinner. “We’re going to be on your blog? Creepy.”

Pumpkin beer for the non-marathoners. Well, we’ll have one tomorrow afternoon. πŸ™‚

DINNER IS SERVED!

Whole wheat pasta, sauce, bread, and shredded chicken…delicious.


Pumpkin spice bread with butter-creme frosting. Heaven.

Race day

Kasey is seriously the bomb dot com and made a shirt and a sign for tomorrow!! How awesome is she???

I have my playlist…whether I’ll use it or not is still up for debate.

Clothes laid out.

And bagel ready to go.

I’ll be back AFTER THE RACE!!! WOOOOHOOO πŸ™‚

About Running the Off Season

I am a runner trying to stay healthy and in shape! I try to live a healthy lifestyle through good food choices, exercise, and fun!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

