My prayers have been answered??

I love peanut butter, almond butter, sunflower butter, etc. Even though these butters are GREAT for you (in moderation), sometimes it’s hard to justify spending 200+ calories on 2 tbsp.

But…I think I may have a solution. My cousin Meghan texted me the other day about “peanut flour” peanut butter. It’s low cal, low fat, and still has protein and fiber. All you do is mix a little bit of peanut flour and water…add salt if you’d like. I was immediately interested and had to go out and try this concoction.

I was up pretty late last night doing some school work so I had a little late night snack to test this “peanut flour” peanut butter. (I had gotten some at Trader Joe’s earlier that night).

I mixed 1 tbsp peanut flour with a splash of water…I ended up having to add a little bit more water. A generous tbsp of this will run you about 50 calories (a 1/4 cup serving of the peanut flour is 110 calories). I’ll take it!

After I mixed it up, I tasted….and it was GOOD! I was SHOCKED. I was expecting smooshy chalk or something…but it was actually really really good. I mean, it’s no Whole Foods freshly squeezed peanut butter…but it’s still pretty darn delicious.

For breakfast this morning I was feeling eggs again…so I made a southwestern style egg scramble.

In the mix

½ cup southwestern style Egg Beaters + 1 egg white

¼ cup black beans

Trader Joe’s fire roasted peppers and onions

2 strips turkey bacon

Today I tore up the turkey bacon and added it to my scramble. AWESOME idea. It added a really delicious smokey flavor.

I can’t believe I leave for Chicago on Friday!! I have so much to do before I leave…mainly, trying to find someone who can take care of Darby while I’m gone. Any takers? 🙂

Who can resist that mug?

About Running the Off Season

I am a runner trying to stay healthy and in shape! I try to live a healthy lifestyle through good food choices, exercise, and fun!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

