TWIN CITIES MARATHON!

Today marks the day of the Twin Cities Marathon! I am super excited to go watch a few friends run it! Go Becca, Kristin, Chris and my buddies from Run Club!! 🙂

I didn’t get home until super late last night (babysitting and an engagement party). But dinner was as follows.

Leftover turkey chili

Whole wheat bread with 1/2 packet Justin’s

And some no-sugar rice pudding + homemade granola (I seriously need to unload some of this stuff…it’s soo addicting! :))

I was hungry again around 11 and I knew I wasn’t going to bed anytime soon (still babysitting and still had engagement party) so I had a piece of whole wheat bread with some turkey and yellow mustard.

SUNDAY FUNDAY!!! TWIN CITIES MARATHON!

Even though I felt hungover (I didn’t got to bed till about 2:30 am) I woke up this morning really excited because it’s the Marathon!! I am running the last few miles with  my friend Becca. I’ll run with her from about mile 22.5 until the end and then run back to my house from the finish line. I have no idea how many miles that will be…maybe 8?

Because I wasn’t running right after I woke up, I needed to make something that would sustain me for the morning. So, I had 1/2 cup egg beaters+1 egg white + black beans, a slice of whole wheat bread, and some raspberries and strawberries. Delicious.

I also made a sign for my running group. I am currently at my parents’ house and the marathon runs right by it. The sign reads, “Do it for the THIN MINTS”. Here’s the back story: In the neighborhood where we do our speed work there’s a little boy who loves watching us run. And as our reward for working so hard the little boy brings us Thin Mints. Hence the sign, “Do it for the THIN MINTS” 🙂

I also provided some goodies: Swedish Fish, Jolly Ranchers, Ritz Crackers and actual Thin Mints! After our last run club we were joking about finding Thin Mints on Craigslist or something…but my mom actually had an unopened box at home! SCORE!

Oh, and I also got a small bottle of Ibprofen for those aching muscles.

It’s the perfect day for a marathon! Sunny and about 50 degrees. I can hear all the people cheering outside so I need to go watch and run! Happy Sunday!

About Running the Off Season

I am a runner trying to stay healthy and in shape! I try to live a healthy lifestyle through good food choices, exercise, and fun!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

