Just call me Martha Stewart….

So in an effort to avoid work I’ve been researching recipes and cooking all day 🙂

Here’s how the granola turned out…and there’s a TON. Wow.

I kind of burnt the second batch…and the first batch was a bit under done…I’d recommend baking for 20 minutes at 350 and then baking for 15 minutes at 250.

I made chili tonight…it was kinda just a big cluster of whatever I had lying around. See ingredients below:

I mixed all the veggies and diced tomatoes in a pot and put the heat on low. I then browned the turkey and mixed in the taco seasoning.

Then I added the turkey…

And set the timer for 2 hours (keeping the heat on low)–I went back and stirred the pot every 15 or so minutes.

I also got some delish whole wheat bread to pair with the chili

I cut it up and put the slices into individual bags and put the bags in the freezer. I’ve bought the bread before and it usually gets really tough in a few days.

I was still pretty full of lunch/snacking on the granola this afternoon 🙂 so I just had a small bowl of chili and the end of the bread.

I prefer a heartier chili so I added a ton of beans and veggies. I’ve posted a slow cook recipe below.

Ingredients

  • 1lb lean ground turkey
  • Low sodium taco seasoning
  • 1  garlic clove, minced
  • 1 green pepper
  • 1 red pepper
  • 1 onion
  • 1 can diced tomatoes (Ex. petite diced)
  • 1 can tomato sauce
  • 1 can kidney beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 can corn kernels (optional)
  • 2 Tbsp. chili powder
  • 1 Tbsp. cumin powder

Directions

  1. Spray a skillet with non-stick cooking spray. Brown turkey in a skillet.
  2. Follow directions on taco seasoning (add water and taco seasoning; simmer).
  3. Spray slow cooker with non-stick cooking spray.
  4. After turkey has simmered in taco seasoning mix together all the ingredients in the slow cooker.
  5. Cook for 8 hours on low or 4 hours on high.
  6. Enjoy!
About Running the Off Season

I am a runner trying to stay healthy and in shape! I try to live a healthy lifestyle through good food choices, exercise, and fun!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Just call me Martha Stewart….

  1. Pingback: Hey winter, ya did it. | Running the Off Season

  2. Pingback: Crock Pot Chicken Chili! | Running the Off Season

Leave a Reply

