The perfect afternoon…

After seeing Rach and her adorable little bambino I was off to lunch with my friends Anna and Jess and Anna’s baby A.J. I was lucky enough to see two friends’ babies today! 🙂

I was STARVING when I got to Anna’s so I had a slice of Cecil’s (local deli) bread with some Trader Joe’s almond and flaxseed butter. I didn’t take a picture because it was gone in about .25 seconds. And it was goooooooood.

We decided to hit up The Good Earth in Roseville. We sat on the patio despite the somewhat cool weather. We got a nice little breadbasket to start. The thing that’s great about The Good Earth is that instead of bringing you butter for your bread (super fatty) they bring you DELICIOUS hummus!

We got our food and dug right in. 🙂

Anna got Thai Chicken “CHIANG MAI” Noodles (Wok-seared chicken breast with noodles, garlic, ginger, cucumbers, and a spicy coconut-curry sauce).

Hey A.J.!

Jess got the Butternut Squash Lasagna (Layers of pasta, wild mushrooms, butternut squash, and  marinara and low fat cream sauces.)

And I got the soup/half sandwich combo. I chose the oven roasted turkey sandwich on wheat with lettuce and mustard and for the soup I had the Mediterranean Vegetable Soup (Carrots, onion, celery, turnips, spinach and Northern beans simmered in chicken stock and white wine). The sandwich was good; the soup, however, was not as good. 😦

I inhaled the sandwich but not so much with the soup….

The Good Earth has the  most amazing looking cookies I’ve ever seen. My friend Kerry and I came here after the Square Lake Triathlon and I was dying to try one of the cookies. So this time around I decided to get one!

They were HUGE. And you know what, I’m not going to lie, I ate the whole thing and it was amazing. And I didn’t even feel bad about doing it. 🙂

It was kinda crappy out this afternoon so I decided to put on some Zac Brown Band and make homemade granola! I’ve been dying to try out this recipe I found online at Peanut Butter Fingers.

The recipe goes as follows:

Ingredients

  • 8 c. old fashioned oatmeal
  • 1 1/2 c. wheat germ (1/2 jar)
  • 1 c. grated coconut (optional)
  • 1/3 c. each of chopped cashews and almonds
  • 2 c. sesame seeds
  • 2 c. sunflower seeds
  • 1 3/4 tsp. salt
  • 2 tsp. vanilla
  • 2 1/2 c. canola oil
  • 2 c. honey

Directions

  • Mix dry ingredients together in a bowl.
  • Mix the liquids separately until well blended.
  • Coat dry ingredients with liquid ingredients.
  • Spread onto an ungreased cookie sheet or two 9×13 pans.
  • Bake at 350 for 20 min. Then reduce to 250 and turn every 10-15 minutes until browned to suit taste.

This recipe makes SO SO SO much granola. I am definitely going to have to share some of this with my friends 🙂 I think I’ll bring as a snack for my 5:00 Lawyering Skills class! Get ready Erin, Kristin, and Jenny!

1. Mix Dry ingredients.

2. Mix liquid ingredients.

3. Mix dry  and liquid ingredients together.

4. Spread on an ungreased cookie sheet. And bake at 350 for 20 minutes. Then reduce temp to 250 and turn every 10-15 minutes until browned.

In other news I picked up the right kind of pumpkin today…I accidentally got canned pumpkin pie filling instead of just regular canned pumpkin.

I am really excited to make turkey chili tonight for dinner! Deets to follow. 🙂

About Running the Off Season

I am a runner trying to stay healthy and in shape! I try to live a healthy lifestyle through good food choices, exercise, and fun!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

